Recipe for Espresso-Rubbed Steak w Green Chile Pesto


My wife tore an recipe out of an old issue of Better Homes & Gardens. It was for an Espresso-Rubbed Steak with Green Chile Pesto.

The recipe won Leslie Clark of Grandview MO first place in the “Weeknight Steak Dishes” category. I tried calling Ms Clark to interview her for this article, but the phone number I found just rang and rang.

My wife made the dish last night, and it was awesome. I highly recommend it for anyone feeling a little spicy and creative. It was the first time my wife has used coffee in one of our meals and also her first attempt at homemade pesto. 

The coffee flavor didn’t override the other flavors, but blended well into an amalgam that whetted the appetite. I think I ate half a flank steak by myself. We also had enough pesto left over for a chicken dish she’s going to try tonight.

You can enlarge the pic to print out the specs on the recipe. I also posted a few extra pics on The Coffee Scholar’s Facebook fan page. There’s a button below to click on it.

5 thoughts on “Recipe for Espresso-Rubbed Steak w Green Chile Pesto

  1. It was soooo good. I highly recommend the dish. I’m not so much for coffee but the flavor it added was a very plesant suprise.

  2. I can’t wait to try this one. We Love coffee and are very fond of Flank steak as well! We’ll let you know how it goes. Keep those interesting recipes coming.

  3. tried this tonite and it was awesome! had to fudge a little on the pepper pesto; did bell peppers with 2 serranos and 1 jalepeno. the flank steak was delicious with the coffee and mexican oregano was perfect! i highly recommend and you have tons of pepper pesto left over to serve on another grilled meat. Thanks for sharing!

    • So glad you liked it! We always have so much pesto left over that we plan a big chicken meal the next night to use it with.

Leave a Reply

