Everyone Needs an Alfred


IMG_7607

Everyone who’s ever picked up a Batman comic or seen any of the movies know who Alfred is. Most people don’t realize it, but Alfred is as important to the story as anyone. He’s the quiet figure who stands behind Batman, who attends to his every need, who counsels him to be cautious, or rest, or check his priorities.

Alfred is Batman’s voice of reason. He’s his conscience. He’s his counselor. It doesn’t matter if it’s loneliness, bad guy troubles, or the death of a friend or son, Alfred is always there. We never really know much about him except that he is always there. Always there. No matter what. Always there.

We should all be so lucky to have an Alfred.

Do you?

I have an Alfred. His name is Ryan McRae. Right now he’s in Afghanistan, getting ready to finish up that adventure and get started on another one. Even thousands of miles away, in a combat zone, with rockets flying overhead, Ryan has been my Alfred. I’ve gone through my own tough times while he’s been away, mostly relationship issues. and he’s been there with me through the whole thing, offering advice, giving me a chance to vent, offering a digital shoulder to lean on.

Thousands of miles away he’s still been my Alfred.

I almost feel bad using him like this, dumping my stuff on him when he’s away and obviously has his own issues going on (war zone, remember?), but it seems like God made him like this, that maybe it’s his calling to be there for his friends no matter what’s going on. God didn’t make me that way, so I cherish that even more in my friend. It also makes it even more important to recognize people like this in your own life. They will keep you sane. They will pull you back from the brink. Or perhaps even push you over it when that’s what you need.

Just yesterday I got this postcard in the mail from Ryan. It said…

IMG_7826

He didn’t say much, but it was exactly what I needed to hear. I’m in the fight of my life right now, and my corner man is right there.

Thanks for being there Ryan!

 

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

 

One thought on “Everyone Needs an Alfred

  1. Pingback: The Last Post from Afghanistan You’ll Get from Me. | Geek in Afghanistan

Leave a comment