Optimist-ic Coffee Secrets


I spoke yesterday at a meeting for the Grand Strand Optimist Club (www.grandstrandoptimist.org) in Myrtle Beach SC. The president there is a friend of mine Kevin Cox, who works for HTC, a local telephone cooperative. I know what you’re thinking and, no, that wasn’t the only reason I was asked to speak.

I had a great time. The food was great and the people were awesome. This club was way different from any other civic club I have ever visited or spoken at. Most of the clubs I’ve been to are comprised primarily of old men and women with very little energy. Grand Strand Optimist was just the opposite. Kevin rang the bell to start the meeting and was off like a fireball. He had a mike and walked around the tables doing the announcements and covering the agenda. It was like a stand-up comedy show. I’m sure Kevin would appreciate me saying, “That’s so Kevin.”

At the end of my lecture session the club presented me with a copy of the “Love Notes” Cookbook, which was made up of recipe submissions from the members. It was a great gift, but I have to admit I didn’t get the opportunity to enjoy it much. As with anything cooking or kitchen-related, my wife confiscated it immediately and added it to her collection. It’s probably best that way. Cooking secrets are much safer in my wife’s hands than mine.

Optimist Cookbook 001

Before she grabbed it I snagged these coffee tidbits to pass on to the rest of you…

• Never boil coffee; it brings out acids and causes a bitter taste. Store ground coffee in the refrigerator or freezer to keep it fresh.
• Always use cold water for electric drip coffee makers. Use 1-2 tablespoons ground coffee for each cup of water.
• 1 pound of ground coffee yields 5 cups.
• Quantities needed for large servings of coffee- for 25 servings, use ½ pound and 1 ½ gallons of water. Double it for 50 and triple for 100 servings.
• Black coffee has no calories.

The coffee tidbits are just a taste. It’s an excellent cookbook, so if you’d like to order one, check it out on the website.

Leave a Reply

