Don’t Rerun My Comics


Coffee is a stable fixture in the daily comic strip For Better or Worse by Lynn Johnston. I’m happy about that. I’m not happy about the strip though.

I really, really hate it when comic strips end and then start up again with reruns. This one does it. Snoopy does it. If any of you others do it, I’ll find you.

I got invested in this strip over the years and enjoyed seeing the characters grow up in real time, which many other strips avoid.

The story behind this strip is really sad also. The comic husband was based on Johnston’s husband, who left her. Then she kept writing his character in the strip as a nice family man. I would’ve had him killed in the strip, maybe in real life too. Check out the story at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/For_Better_or_For_Worse.

Either way, it’s no excuse to rerun a comic strip. Just quit and let a new strip drop in. Give someone new a chance. Calvin & Hobbes did it. The Far Side did it. Just retire. Rumor has it that she’ll be revising some of the stories and strips as they rerun. The only way that’ll make me happy is if the husband suffers an ill fate.

But the silver lining is that the reruns often feature coffee. For that I can be happy.

For Better or Worse_coffee on table_10.20.09 001

Leave a Reply

