Consumer Reports Grades Coffee


The Spring 2010 Consumer Reports Food & Fitness issue is out. They rated coffee again, so I thought I’d mention it to you.

As everyone knows, I’m not a fan of regular supermarket fare coffee. It’s almost always mass-produced, cheaply made, and without substance. Some of the grocery store brands are also brewed by other companies and then repackaged, which just seems shady to me unless it’s noted on the package. Unfortunately, that’s all that Consumer Reports reviews for their annual ratings.

I’ll just say that some of the smaller companies like Eight O’ Clock Coffee, Caribou, and Kickapoo beat the competitors, including the big three (Maxwell House, Folgers, & Starbucks) in the caffeinated category. I won’t even talk about the decaf category, as I believe that decaf coffee is the spawn of Satan.

For a complete recap of all the results, go out and buy the magazine. I wouldn’t ruin the surprises by spilling the coffee beans here. The issue also has some pretty good reviews on other items related to food and fitness as well. I bought my issue at Costco, but you should be able to find it at your own local bookstore or newsstand.

I also have to give kudos to the magazine and editor Gayle Williams for her quote at the beginning of the magazine- “Grab a cup of coffee, kick back, and settle in for a read.” That’s good advice for anybody, no matter what kind of coffee you’re drinking.

Leave a Reply

