What’s Avatar and Who Is James Cameron?


I think I might be one of the last people to see Avatar in the theatre. Took my wife and 2 little boys last night. With the effects and what-not I thought it would be much cooler on the monster screen. I was right. I don’t know if regular tv would do it justice.

It was a pretty cool movie and aside for my fetish for sexy alien chicks, I think one of my favorite parts was the stereotypical tougher-than-nails Marine Colonel. It was like watching Clint Eastwood’s rendition of Gunny Highway in Heartbreak Ridge, except in outer space.

The best part- the coffee scene, of course. I don’t know if you noticed it in the main battle scene, but Col. Quaritch was just standing in the cockpit of the gunship enjoying a nice cup of coffee while the battle raged all around.

The lesson to learn here is that coffee eases stress and makes everything seem not so bad.

I have to wonder, though, what kind of coffee? Some weird alien bean? I cup of self-ground single origin brew? Nah. The Colonel was likely drinking a thick as tar, straight black mug of  camp coffee. That’s what Marines do.

3 thoughts on “What’s Avatar and Who Is James Cameron?

  1. Sure it was coffee? Maybe it was a great cup of hot cocoa! Naw, but the movie was very cool. And I did take notice of this particular scene.

  2. It absolutely had to be coffee! No way the Col would be downing a dainty cup of hot chocolate or a nice hot green tea.

Leave a Reply

