Etiquette Died This Week


Elizabeth L. Post died this week at 89 years of age in Naples FL. For 30 years she was the etiquette guru carrying on the tradition inspired by Emily Post. Elizabeth Post assumed the mantle when Emily passed on in 1960.

Over the years she wrote more than a dozen books on etiquette and carried through five editions of Emily Post’s Etiquette.

About etiquette she said, “Etiquette is meant to smooth the path between people to better relationships. It isn’t meant to be something restrictive or unpleasant.”

When I was a wee lad I used to hang out in my grandpa’s study for hours. I’d be caught in there perusing before you’d catch me outside playing. He had books on everything. That was where I was first introduced to Tarzan by Edgar Rice Burroughs, Zane Grey, and the image of a nude woman (he had lots of art books and National Geographics).

He also had copies of both Emily Post’s Etiquette and Amy Vanderbilt’s Complete Book of Etiquette. He actually gave them to me years later. I read both cover to cover.

I’m not the least bit effiminate or metrosexual (I can drill you in the forehead from 500 yards with my AR-15 if you insinuate otherwise). I’m just a bit eclectic and extremely organized. I like rules. I like standards and boundaries. Those books showed me a standard set of guidelines to regulate conduct and create better relationships, as Post said so eloquently.

In other words, good etiquette makes good neighbors rather than fences.

I also thought it would be incrdibly endearing to the ladies if I knew which fork to use and what to buy for a wedding gift. That didn’t necessarily woo the gals, but it certainly made me feel more cultured.

Just because the Post is gone doesn’t mean it’s too late for you to learn how to act civil at weddings, tea parties, or gun club meetings. The book are out there and will long survive the Post women whose names start with E.

One thought on “Etiquette Died This Week

  1. I would appear that your early studies were not in vain. I have enjoyed your vast knowledge, and taken advatage of your etiquette know-how.

Leave a Reply

