Screw the FTC- Blogger Disclosures


I just yanked this from Tim Ferriss’ latest blog posting of The Random Show. Thought it looked very applicable, and Tim gave permission to replicate it.

Thanks Tim!

The FTC requires all bloggers to attribute when we receive things and then blog about them. Now, first off, I’d like to say, “Screw the FTC.” But I can’t do that. If I refuse to play by the rules I’ll get fined. It’s much easier to say “Screw the government” when I’m at home not paying fines than it is to do while paying the fines.

So, here’s my disclosures. Much of this is copied word for word from Tim Ferriss…

This blog is not primarily financially driven. I put it up a few years back to build a community and reach coffee-centric folks like you. 

That said, beginning December 1, 2009, the FTC requires bloggers to provide disclosures whenever there could be hidden interests or unspoken biases related to recommendations.

I am a businessman on my way to becoming the first Emperor of the United States. I invest and consult in various interests that may be mentioned on this blog.

If I interview someone and they grab the bill for lunch, I would need to specify this, as I would if I use an Amazon link that gets me 8 cents instead of an Amazon link that gets me 0 cents. If someone gives me a comfy t-shirt with a logo and I wear it in a photo, ditto. Disclaimers all over.

This would be tedious for me and a continual eyesore for readers. But rules is rules.

To cover my booty and preserve your reading experience, please assume that, for every recommendation, link, and product I use, the following all hold true:

One thought on “Screw the FTC- Blogger Disclosures

Leave a Reply

