Inspiration at Starbucks


I attended a lecture on Influence at my local Starbucks this morning. It’s a mall-based store at the Coastal Grande Mall in Myrtle Beach SC. We met before the mall opened and heard an awesome lecture right there in the mall center court.

Psst…the shiny head on the left is me!

It’s a great way and place to do an event like this. At any other Starbucks you’d not have the room to do it or people who didn’t pay for the lecture would drift in and listen for free. This location worked perfect.

And the best thing…FREE COFFEE!

And the next best thing…A COFFEE GOODIE BASKET GIVEAWAY!

The lecture was given by Angela Kegler, a partner at The Raub Group. Angela is quite a woman and a self-described coffee junkie. She actually wrote her MBA thesis on Starbucks and got a call from THE Howard Schultz to gather info for the paper. He made her a Starbucks fan for life.

I won’t give away Angela’s secrets on Influence. Instead, I’ll recommend you check out one of her lectures or training events. Though they’re based here at the beach, I’m sure the Raub group would be willing to travel to help out you and your company. Check them out here.

Leadership lessons, free coffee, my friend Eileen sitting next to me- my day started off right!

4 thoughts on “Inspiration at Starbucks

  1. Via e-mail-
    Thanks Doc,

    That was a nice review you wrote for us David, we appreciate your support. We will be doing this periodically and I hope we see you at more of our events in the future. The venue and the topic will change so please let us know if you have any suggestions.

    See you soon

    Mike Ward
    The Raub Group
    843-504-9695 Cell

  2. I really enjoyed the session and Angela’s sincere enthusiasm and intellect for the subject of leadership. I will be attending future Coffee Talks for new ideas, inspiration and great fellowship of other students of leadership. Angela- thanks for your time and sharing your knowledge today!
    Eileen Soisson
    The Meeting Institute
    843.236.9626

  3. And David- thanks for always being a guy of inspiration for me. When Angela spoke of being someone who is inpirational and I told you that was you (and also someone who is smarter than me…hmmm…) I meant that- thanks for being such an inspiration to those of us who learn from you with each fellowship moment. I say it’s all Correne….haha!!

  4. Via e-mail-
    Thank you so much for the kind words. We’re glad you enjoyed the session and the venue. We will see what we can do to mitigate the outside noise in our next session although all in all, I was very pleased with this morning. I’m glad to see you were as well. Thank you again!

    Tom Raub | President/Founder | The Raub Group, LLC
    (p) 843.444.5602 | (f) 866.679.1992 | (m) 843.504.1377

    GROWING HUMAN CAPITAL – IT’S ALL ABOUT PEOPLE

    http://www.raubgroup.com

Leave a Reply

