In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day


I just finished reading In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day by Mark Batterson. It’s a really great book, one of those book where I end up highlighting or underling items on every page. I enjoyed the book for several reasons. The message on seizing opportunity really struck a chord for this season in my life. Batterson talks a lot about coffee. The book features the Biblical hero that my youngest son is named after- Benaiah, one of King David’s mighty men.

My oldest son was a wee bit jealous though and asked me when Batterson was going to write a book about him. His name is Abishai, named after another of King David’s mighty men. 

Batterson has great experience with coffee through Ebenezer’s Coffeehouse, which is affiliated with National Community Church. You have to be careful with church-related coffeehouses though. As Batterson said, “In too many instances, “Christian coffeehouse” is an oxymoron. I’ve seen lots of Christian coffeehouses that don’t do justice to Christianity or coffee. And I was concerned about the negative perceptions people might have if they thought our coffeehouse was going to be one of those.”

There’s a neat story behind the name of the coffeehouse. It’s a Hebrew word from I Samuel 7:12 that means “hitherto the Lord hath helped us.”

Batterson goes into detail about how Ebenezer’s came to be in the book. It’s a great example of how he seized upon an opportunity, how he chased a lion into a pit on a snowy day.

I urge you to read the book, especially if you’re in a spot where you could decide to take a chance or sit back and decay.

Leave a Reply

