Office Hours at Barnes and Noble


I’ve started something new. Well, at least new for me. I’d like to lay claim to initial originality for the idea, but I’m firmly convinced as Solomon said, “there is no new thing under the sun.”

Right this very minute I’m sitting in the cafe section of the Barnes and Noble bookstore at Market Common in Myrtle Beach, SC. If you must know, I’m also sitting at one of the small tables. I usually grab one of the big tables and spread out, but the only usable plug for power is beside the small table. Not sure how I’d fix the power issues, but extension cords hanging from the ceiling would work fine for me.

I’m here for Office Hours, my new experiment in giving things away for free, as Chris Anderson espouses in his book Free: The Future of a Radical Price. You see, one of my streams of income (perhaps my most enjoyful) is life coaching. I’ve gotten quite good at helping people find balance and enrichment in their lives. It’s quickly becoming one of the most popular and profitable streams in my income. So, I thought, maybe I should give some of that away.

So here I am. I’ll usually show up for a few hours at my local B&N and offer advice, help, brainstorming, or whatever for anyone that shows up. I announce it the day before on Facebook. It’s not something I schedule regularly. If I have time in my schedule to hang out at my offsite office at the B&N I’ll let people know so they can drop by. It works pretty well. So far, there haven’t been any fights for my attention. People are careful with my time and if someone else is waiting, they won’t stay forever. If there is a lull in the time (like right now as I type this blog) I’ll just work on something else until someone shows up.

Did I say it’s free? I did. I do encourage people to support my diet though. I will not turn down a pastry, smoothie, or chai tea if they offer. No coffee though. I realize that’s heresy from The Coffee Scholar, but I just won’t drink the coffee from Starbucks. It’s nasty. They do have some other good drinks though. I’ll get my coffee fix somewhere else or at home.

So that’s my new idea. I like it. It gets me out of the office where I can be around all the people noise where I work best. It helps others. It brings some extra business to my local bookstore. It’s a win-win. If you see one of my announcements pop up in Facebook or if you happen to see me in the cafe, come one over. Let me know how I can help. We’ll put our brains together and see how we can make your life into the marvelous creature you always dreamed of. If you can’t drop by, I’m always available for the regular coaching service via phone or web.

…something to percolate on from Dr. David W. Powers

One thought on “Office Hours at Barnes and Noble

  1. Via Facebook- “That’s about the coolest thing I’ve seen in a long time. And you must have the coolest job in the world! I would come and ask you a question or two but, after a couple minutes, you’d suggest some expensive psychiatric counseling for me.
    Can’t risk anyone finding out I’m that unstable. Will wouldn’t let me use the shooting range anymore. By the way, I don’t like Starbuck’s coffee either. They DO have nice lighting and comfortable chairs.” Mike T.

Leave a Reply

