The Art of Non-Conformity Preview Review


So what’s a preview review? I’m glad you asked. I just finished reading The Art of Non-Conformity by Chris Guillebeau. My review of it will be published in Transitions next month and also here for all my faithful readers. It’s one of those books though that I can’t talk about enough, so I thought I’d give you a preview with a few additional comments and items that won’t be in the review.

The book came highly recommended by several friends. I initially saw a mention in one of Tim Ferriss’ blogs. Chris’ book pretty much fits into the “live your own life with passion” way of thinking that I espouse in my own life and read about in other books. I also heard about it from Kevin Miller, a great friend and the guru of self-employment at Free Agent Underground. One of Chris’ stops on his Unconventional Book Tour was at Kevin’s dad Dan Miller’s Sanctuary in Franklin, TN.

For my coffee-centric view on life I have to draw attention to Chris’ apparent penchant for the brown brew. There are quite a few coffee mentions in the book. As a matter of fact, as documented in the book, one of his first entrepreneurial ventures was buying and selling Jamaica coffee. Hey, if you’re gonna deal with coffee, why not start with the best?

All coffee references aside, the book is an excellent addition to my library and you should buy it. If you want to wait and read my review first, I’ll post it here after it comes out in January.

Until then, here’s a lecture that Chris did at TEDxCMU

2 thoughts on “The Art of Non-Conformity Preview Review

  1. David – you…are a true nonconformist, no doubt. And a banner of nonconformity, I think, is a grand appreciation for coffee. Good coffee. REAL coffee. I dig your advocacy brother.

Leave a Reply

