Architecture for Zombies


I was reading the latest issue of Metropolis magazine the other day. It’s one of my favorite mags and the only one that I read to get my architecture and design buzz. I noticed a small article on New York architect Andre Kikoski’s newest work.

He designed a facade for a row of warehouses in Brooklyn that is actually quite fascinating. Although it may not have been in Andre’s original plans, the warehouse appears to be relatively zombie-proof. The motorized steel doors on the front actually fold upward and act as awnings during the day. At night they are lowered for security and illumintaed in a ghostly glow by inset LED lights.

I talk about zombies a lot due to my fascination with the undead in movies, television, and books. Ieven teach classes in zombie preparedness. (They’re actually disaster prep classes that I call zombie classes. People seem to enjoy that more and in my area it helps them stay prepared for hurricanes.) But seldom do I see outside professionals take a proactive interest in prepping for the war, even if they didn’t do it for that reason. So two thumbs up to Andre for his creation.

One thought on “Architecture for Zombies

  1. Via e-mail-
    Dear Dr. Powers
    Thank you so much!
    It’s a great blog and we are delighted to be part of it.
    Many thanks

    Andre
    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

