The Art of Non-Conformity Book Review


I’ll be attending the World Domination Summit in Portland OR in June of this year. It’s a first-time event hosted by Chris Guillebeau, the author of The Art of Non-Conformity. The summit is the beginning of a week’s worth of adventures I’ll be having in Portland this year. If you’d like more information on how to join me on the adventures, drop me a line. It’ll include the WDS, Don Miller’s Storyline Conference, and an epic climb of Mt. Hood, the highest point in Oregon.

For now though, here’s my review of Chris’ book…

                I first encountered Chris Guillebeau through a mention in Tim Ferriss’ blog. Ferriss is the author of The 4-Hour Workweek and frequently mentions people who live similar lifestyles or who are experts in their chosen paths. In order to do this he often allows those folks to post guest blogs. From the first mention of Guillebeau I instantly signed up as a subscriber to his blog and ordered his book. I also e-mailed him to see where his next stop on the book tour would be.

                In order to promote his book on non-conformity, Guillebeau formed and set out on his Unconventional Book Tour. Unlike the big-time authors who receive publicity money and fly first class to events in the biggest cities and at the largest book fairs, Chris decided to visit all 50 states and all 10 provinces in Canada in a very low-key way. His visits ranged from small bookstores to coffee shops. He even made a stop at my friend Dan Miller’s Sanctuary in Franklin, TN where I hear they had a great turnout.

                I have to say that the book is inspiring. I used to be a total book nut and saved anything of the written word that came anywhere near my interests. After a multi-year journey into simplicity I keep only a few of the books that I read. This one is a keeper. It’s one of those books where I started out highlighting key passages and ended up noticing that I highlighted most of the book.

                The main appeal of the book to me is that Chris not only tells us about his unconventional journey, he explains how he did it. He pulls no punches in regard to living the life he wants to. Although he is quick to tell the reader that his life is not for everyone, he holds nothing back in his explanations of the need to live your own extraordinary life.

                If you find yourself in a place in life where you feel the need to break free of the normal to live your own life, I would highly recommend this book. If you’re content where you are or just beaten down and have given up, you may not want to read it. You need it more than anyone else, but it would only challenge you to lead a better, more unique, more exciting life.

Leave a Reply

