Patricia Cornwell Rocks the Coffee and Murder


I just finished reading The Front by Patricia Cornwell. May aunt Susie sent it to me for Christmas. That’s one of the things we share in common. We’ve always been quick to read and comment to each other about Pat C’s books. I have to admit that I haven’t been very pleased with her latest entries into the realm of forensic fiction. It just seems like Dr. Scarpetta has become a tired old woman and Lucy, formerly the hottest thing in the books, has become a freak.

The Front follows a different set of characters, so I found myself falling into it easier, and I have to admit, I actually enjoyed it. Most of all, though, in my current state of coffee-centric madness I noticed the wonderful use of coffee as a character development tool right away. Any book that opens with a latte as a supporting character has to be alright.

By page 2 a Starbucks product made its appearance…

“Get her a coffee. Starbucks. Latte with skim milk and Splenda. Wait for her outside…”

And it goes on from there to murder, sex, intrigue, arson, you name it.

If you like mysteries, Cornwell, or cop dramas, it’s a good read. I’d recommend it.

Leave a Reply

