My Personal Harajuku…Crap on Goals


I just sat in on a class at Horry-Georgetown Technical College (HGTC) in Myrtle Beach SC as part of their new Lead & Inspire program being headed up by my good friend Cindy Ott. I’ll be teaching part of the program soon myself. I’m doing this for two reasons. Number one, it’ll expand the reach of my services by partnering with a great school. Number two, I’m a HGTC alumnus. My first two Associate degrees are from there, and it’s a pleasure to be walking the halls as part of the faculty.

Today’s class was Managing the Process taught by Kimberly Raymond. A great class but I’d like to focus on the goal-setting portion. Ms Raymond used the SMART acronym to expand on the process of goals. If you’re not familiar, or if you are and you’ve been too lazy to use it, it’s a great method for setting awesome goals. Chris Guillebeau hit on goals in his recent blog post as well.

S- Specific

M- Measurable

A- Achievable

R- Results-Based

T- Time-Oriented

Ms Raymond used her own weight loss goals as the example, so I did the same and mapped out my personal weight loss goals during the class. I’ve set general goals and made great progress, but I had yet to make it SMART.

So here we go…

At the beginning of the year I weighed 243 lbs. My goal for the end of the year is to weigh in as a light heavyweight at 206 lbs or less. That means a loss of 37 lbs for the year, 3.08 lbs per month, or 0.71 lbs per week. Now this is a SMART goal.

As of my weigh-in on Monday I’ve lost 5 lbs in 7 weeks, which is 0.71 lbs per week, give or take 15 or more decimal places. I’m right on schedule so far. This is even better than you think because I started my new lifestyle change halfway into January. I’ve only been actively on the plan for 4 weeks. I’m still going to stick with 1/1/11 as my start date though.

That’s it. I’m doing great on my plan, have set a great set of goals, and I’m well on my way to success.

Mucho thanks to Cindy and Kimberly for letting me sit in on the class. I’m looking forward to teaching with you soon.

Leave a Reply

