An Impromptu Speech on Scuba Diving


As many of you already know, I’m a member of a Toastmasters Club in the Myrtle Beach SC area, The Rivertown Toasters. Toastmasters is a great way to get over the fear of public speaking, practice speaking if fear isn’t a big issue, or just hang out and fellowship with some great people. It’s helped me tremendously. I speak in public in various venues from churches to conferences, and it gives me a great opportunity to practice many of my speeches before I present them to a larger audience.

The project that you’ll see in the video below was a little bit different. For this project I was to do a completely impromptu speech of 5-7 minutes with no rehearsal and no idea what the topic would be. It’s a lot harder than you think. Sure, it’s easy to talk to people in conversation and even network at a business event. It’s a little harder to formulate a speech in your mind of that length that flows well, has several points, and includes both an introduction and clear conclusion. And do all this in about 10 seconds time.

I think I did all right. It helped that the topic was an easy one for me…scuba diving.

Leave a Reply

