My Personal Harajuku…Food Experiments


As part of my harajuku journey I’m constantly experiementing with new things. If I learned anything from reading The 4-Hour Body it’s that indivdual personal experiementation is very important. You don’t always have to accept that the drivel others, even professional supposedly informed people are feeding you is best for you. See the ‘bike shed’ idea in Tim’s book for an explanation.

I’m currently undergoing several experiments ranging from life-changing to trivial.  One of the life-changing experiments deals with my high cholesterol. I’m going completely against my doctor’s orders and have lowered my cholesterol levels with fewer drugs. I’ll tell you more about that one later and give you all the numbers.

Today I’d like to tell you about a seemingly trivial experiment with my coffee. Depending on how important coffee is to you, this one might seem life-changing.

My preferred method for drinking coffee…before I go further, let me lay something out there…people drink coffee in different ways. I’m a bit of a coffee snob, but I feel like you should be able to enjoy good coffee and have an authentic coffee experience in whatever way you like. If you add cream, fine. Sugar, fine. Dog poop, not fine. Everything but dog excrement. Otherwise, enjoy your coffee how you like.

My preferred method for drinking coffee is to add honey and canned evaporated milk. In an effort to lower my caloric intake and try something new, I eliminated the cream and added vanilla. It tastes great. The vanilla adds little flavor change to the excellent brew of Kenya AA but leaves a slightly sweet hint to it. With the next mug I’m going to try a cinnamon addition.

So what does this little coffee change have to do with the grand scheme of things? Not much or a lot, depending on how you think about it. For me, the willingness to try new things, experience change, and engage in self-experimentation goes a long way. Maybe you should try it. Start small if you have to or go big. The important thing is that you try.

My little table right now…beverage anyone? a grape-flavored drink mix in the Nalgene bottle, a lemonaid Slam energy shot, hot tea, and Kenya AA coffee.

Leave a Reply

