Notes from the First Ever World Domination Summit


First off, I’ll sum up my time at the first World Domination Summit in a couple of words. It was mind-blowing and exceeded all expectations.

The WDS was hosted in Portland OR by Chris Guillebeau, the author of The Art of Non-Conformity: Set Your Own Rules, Live the Life You Want, and Change the World"". For a guy who’s never hosted a large conference before, he went all out. Apparently, he had so much fun that he decided to do it again next year. Us inaugural attendees were lucky though. The conference was really cheap, and Chris even lost money on it, so I’m sure it’ll cost more next year. I know this for a fact, because the pre-registration price for 2012 offered to us was already more expensive than this year’s cost. Still definitely worth it, but you better register fast once he opens it up to the public. It’s already have full with this year’s attendees.

I’ve already written about Portland in other posts, so I won’t bore you with a repeat. You can find them in the previous week’s material. You can also friend me on Facebook at DrDavid Powers or the Master of the Art of Living for photos. What I thought I’d give you now is just a gathering of my notes from the summit. These are only some of my notes transcribed from my journal. They’ll give you a general idea of some of the wisdom I picked up, but not the overall feel of the conference and the awesome networking that was done. For that, you’ll have to attend next year. I’m also omitting all of the million dollar business ideas I picked up. For those, you’ll have to sign up for one of my coaching sessions, where I pass off many of my ideas to my clients. I can’t do all these ideas myself, and I’m not gifted for everything that pops into my head, so I often pass that energy on to my clients who are better able and more suited.

From Pamela Slim, author of Escape from Cubicle Nation (Escape from Cubicle Nation: From Corporate Prisoner to Thriving Entrepreneur"".)

  • Ya’at’eeh- a Navajo greeting
  • Your primary job is to prepare people, especially your children, to be independent
  • Check out .
  • Just what is the ideal set of conditions for you perfect life?

From Leo Babauta, author of the wildly popular Zen Habits blog

  • It’s okay to do push-ups on stage.
  • It’s okay to reduce committments in your life. Ask yourself, is this really something I need in my life right now?
  • Try living without goals. Think about how much time it takes to manage a goal, and if you could send all that energy toward just accomplishing the goal.

From Danielle Laporte, writer of The White Hot Truth blog

  • Know the rules before you try to break the rules.
  • Learn the foundation before you try to break tradition.
  • Stop selling and start radiating.
  • Love and appreciate where you’re at but have a light at the end of the tunnel.
  • Start a “Stop Doing” list, a list of things you need to stop doing in your life.

Mark Silver, from The Heart of Business

  • Not really any notes on this one. What a horrible presentation!
  • Silver is perfect evidence of the popular credo that it’s perfectly acceptable to push any religion or belief system on other  people as long as it’s not Christianity.
  • I’ll have another post coming soon based on his presentation detailing how to pull a Mentalist-style wool over on an audience.

From Kim and Jason Kotecki, purveyors of Escape Adulthood

  • If you ever have the chance to hear this couple speak together, do it. They are so funny together.
  • They talked about how to make a living speaking, so I’ll forego the notes on this one because it’s more technical info than inspirational stuff.

From Jodi Ettenberg, driving force behind Legal Nomads

  • This young lady is a former lawyer who quit her job to travel fulltime.
  • She went to law school with no undergrad degree based on a dare.
  • She got a job straight out of school in NYC with a prestigious law firm based on a dare.
  • She’s a very petite and attractive young lady and talked about her experiences all over the world, including getting caught in the middle of several violent protests.
  • I have to admit I have a professional crush on her.
  • If she ever says no to a request, just follow it up with a dare or bet her that she can’t do it. She’ll be sure to follow through with flair.
  • Long term travel is not a vacation. It’s her life. She comes home to visit family when she needs a vacation from travelling.

From Karen Walrond, author of The Beauty of Different (The Beauty of Different"".)

  • Karen is a former attorney and engineer who found a better path in life.
  • We’re wired to connect.
  • We all feel different.
  • Making comparisons to other people is a colossal waste of time.
  • Create your own story.
  • Adventure occurs when we create possibility.
  • Don’t forget to inject some awesome into your life from time to time.
  • We don’t age because time passes. We age because we stop looking for the wonderful.
  • We are all beautiful. Think of something beautiful that makes your heart jump. Then know that it’s entirely possible that someone could think of you as well.

I’ll stop there for now with day one. Day two notes to follow soon…

3 thoughts on “Notes from the First Ever World Domination Summit

  1. Great that you attended this David, and sounds like it was right up my alley. Would love to hear what you gained that you think we should instill in Free Agent Academy!

  2. Pingback: More Notes from the First Ever World Domination Summit « The Daily Grind

  3. Pingback: World Domination Summit 2012- D-Day-1 « Master of the Art of Living

Leave a Reply

