More Notes from the First Ever World Domination Summit


World Domination Summit Notes from Day 2…

Check out HERE for notes from day 1.

Slight disclaimer about my seminar notes…These are only some of my notes transcribed from my journal. They’ll give you a general idea of some of the wisdom I picked up, but not the overall feel of the conference and the awesome networking that was done. For that, you’ll have to attend next year. I’m also omitting all of the million dollar business ideas I picked up. For those, you’ll have to sign up for one of my coaching sessions, where I pass off many of my ideas to my clients. I can’t do all these ideas myself, and I’m not gifted for everything that pops into my head, so I often pass that energy on to my clients who are better able and more suited.

From Neil Pasricha, author of The Book of Awesome

  • Live with attitude, awareness, and authenticity
  • Regarding authenticity, check out Rosie Grier’s needlepoint book
  • He asked us to sit down and think about 5 awesome things from this week. Mine were…
  1. Meeting really neat new people
  2. A huge bookstore (Powells) to hang out in
  3. The receptionist at the hotel knew me by name
  4. Nice gym at the hotel
  5. Tons of coffee shops to check out

From Andrea Scher and Jen Lemen, Mondo Beyondo

  • Make a Mondo Beyondo list- Not a bucket list, not a to-do list, but a list of the most crazy ultimate things that could possibly happen
  • Trust, courage, vulnerability, intuition, flexibility, openness- exercise these things to make living your dreams more possible
  • Look at the core experiences in your life and find the passion experiences in them. What makes them awesome?
  • If you don’t like where you are, change the rules.
  • Change the parameters.

From John Unger, artist

  • For most of John’s lecture I had this burst of creativity and most of my notes are packed with project ideas. Listening to John’s lecture was a phenomenal experience and the exhibition of a true artist’s journey from poverty to acclaim.
  • A subsistence job (working for the man) will not make things better. It’ll just keep you alive and pissed off.

From Chris Guillebeau, author of The Art of Non-Conformity and WDS founder 

  • Chris lectured on travel hacking.
  • It’s less stressful to travel with less stuff.
  • VisaHQ.com is a good place to help with foreign visa acquisition.
  • Check out onebag.com.
  • Get a duplicate passport if needed while you’re mailing out your primary to get visas.
  • For award travel book it far out or close up but not in-between.

Right after Chris’ lecture I ran halfway across Portland with my new best friend Ryan McCrae to win a scavenger hunt. Our prize for taking the right pics was a sweet hammock from Color Cloud Hammocks. Check out ResLifeGeek for Ryan’s passion!

From Laura Roder, How Not To Do Everything Yourself, social marketing impresario

  • You do not have to spend your life on crap that you do not like.
  • She asked us to pick 3-5 changes that we need to make in our lives. My choices…
  1. Charge more for my services. I undercharge for what I do.
  2. Find competent people to do things for me and delegate more.
  3. Decide what is and isn’t a waste of my time and don’t compromise on that.
  4. Choose behaviors that I enjoy and use that to find people to work for me. Example- self-motivation.
  • Be a mentor, not a boss.
  • Hourly pay is counter-intuitive- You need them to work as fast as possible and they need to work as slow as possible. Consider salary or project-based pay.

From Jonathan Fields, author of Uncertainty

  • Take bold consistent action in the face of uncertainty.
  • We’re wired to avoid situations where uncertainty exists or make decisions where we might be wrong or be judged.
  • Remove judgment and exalt experimentation.
  • Try the zillion sum game- Will it benefit me? Will it benefit the person on the other side? Will it benefit some person who has never seen or heard of it?
  • Ritualize your workflow practices, either the actual creative process or everything around it.
  • Explore working in burst to renew energy and willpower.
  • Practice reframing (cognitive appraisal) and tell a different story or look at things in a different way.
One thought on “More Notes from the First Ever World Domination Summit

  1. Pingback: World Domination Summit 2012- D-Day-1 « Master of the Art of Living

Leave a Reply

