Book Review- Ghost Story by Jim Butcher


Originally published in print in Transitions magazine…

Moving from summer reading into the fall, although you’d never know it from the Myrtle Beach weather, I’ve run into some really great reads lately. I thought instead of reviewing one main book, that I’d do a recap of what I’ve been reading, in the hopes that maybe it’ll interest you in trying something new.

                Ghost Story by Jim Butcher. My wife and I are always super uber excited each and every time a new Dresden Files book comes out. It’s one of the few authors that we’re willing to shell out the necessary cash for to buy the hardcover as soon as it hits the shelf. In Butcher’s newest, the wizard Harry Dresden is back, not so much back from the dead, but back. I won’t say any more. If this at all interests you, don’t go out and buy this book. Instead, go buy the first one in the series in paperback. You’ll kick yourself if you jump into the series without starting at the beginning. It’s a must read series for anyone that enjoys modern stories involving wizards, vampires, and private detectives.

                Jesus, My Father, The CIA, and Me by Ian Morgan Cron. I met Ian at a Don Miller conference in Portland this year and heard firsthand some of the stories from the book, including the last one mentioned in the book. I’ll be straight up with you. I cried when he told the story live, and I cried when I read it again in the book. I’m a manly man, but I’m okay to admit that. This is a powerful, emotional, spiritually uplifting ‘memoir of sorts’ (in Ian’s words). It’s the story of a man who had it rough as a boy and didn’t fare much better as an adult. Through God’s redemptive power and the love of a wonderful wife Ian made it back to the fold despite how far he strayed and pushed away from that love. It’s not a short book, but I could’ve read it in a single sitting. It’s not that often that a memoir captures my attention and emotions in that way.

                The Outlaws by W.E.B. Griffin. I have so many books that I want to read, that it’s seldom I’ll read through a book twice. Every one of Griffin’s books is one that I’ll read multiple times. The Outlaws is the latest offering in the Presidential Agent series, which holds a tug for me because of my own Federal service. I’m salivating until the next book in the series comes out. I find myself wishing that Griffin would write even more books about other facets of the military and public service, maybe the Marshals or EMS. If you’re a fan of historical fiction involving military or public safety or ever worked in any capacity in either of those occupations, then you need to give his books a try.

References…

Ghost Story (Dresden Files, No. 13)"".

Jesus, My Father, The CIA, and Me: A Memoir. . . of Sorts"".

The Outlaws: A Presidential Agent Novel"".

 

Leave a Reply

