No More Telephones


I had a busy travel October, staying in half a dozen hotel rooms over the course of a couple of weeks. I wouldn’t say that I’m a hotel connoisseur or anything, but I like to look around and compare the amenties and furniture and food and all the stuff that makes me really curious. It ignites my inner interior designer.

One thing I wondered about with the hotels is the telephone. A landline telephone is such an outdated device. More and more people are doing without them. I haven’t had one in 7 years. I wonder how much money a hotel could save if they didn’t have a phone in each room. How much would they save on the hardware? How much would they save on the service? You’re talking millions of dollars for a chain of hotels.

It’s still easy to accomodate for everyone also. They could actually eliminate a newer tech to replace it with an older one. Get rid of all the in-room phones and install a phone box on each floor. That’s right, I’m talking about an old school ‘Clark Kent change into Superman’ -slash- ‘Doctor Who Tardis’ looking phone box. It would work. It used to be the standard option. The vast majority of hotel denizens, even the poor ones, often have cell phones. They can use those. If they don’t have one…voila! There’s a phone box near the elevator and three more in the lobby.

Leave a Reply

