New Year’s Resolutions (Challenges)- Physicality


For the past couple of weeks I’ve been doing my analysis of the previous year and making plans for the upcoming one. It’s a habit I’ve picked up from two great folks- Dan Miller and Chris Guillebeau. I always like to put those plans out there for several reasons.

  • Informational. It’s a good place for me to come back to for ideas, to check up, and maybe give someone else an idea or two.
  • Inspirational. It’d be really awesome if a goal or idea I posted became an inspiration for someone else to reach for.
  • Accountability. Once I put this stuff out there on the interwebz, people know. People that know me will ask. I’ll feel obligated to not be lazy about the goals.

Before I show my list, I’d like to give you my POV on New Year’s Resolutions. I like to change my viewpoint by using different terminology and creating a different point of view. I like to drop the ‘resolutions’ word and instead make it a challenge. Here’s why.

Resolution: to determine an action or course of action. To decide to do something.

Challenge: A call to battle, a contest, or a special effort.

A resolution implies inactivity, something on paper but not put into action. A list with no effort. A challenge implies an attack, an action.

I also try to stay away from two other cliched terms like bucket list and annual goals. A Bucket List is too terminal. It reeks of a “prepare to die” philosophy. Annual goals is just too boring a title. Both my Bucket List and Annual Goals list are intermingled now so that both are equally possible to complete in any given year. I put them together to create my Mondo Beyondo list every year. It changes every year also. My priorities and goals change sometimes. As my boys grow older, many of my goals change to accomodate them.

So here’s my list of physical items…

My main physical goals are to prepare me physically for specific athletic endeavors and make me physically harder to kill. I also endeavor to create a more physically active lifestyle without necessarily adding more ‘gym’ time.

The books I’m using here to plan my 1st quarter workouts are Triathlon Training by Eric Harr, 4 Hour Body by Tim Ferriss, and Extreme Alpinism by Mark Twight.

  1. Complete a sprint triathlon (.5 mile swim, 12 mile bike, and a 5K run). Planned for fall 2012.
  2. Engage in serious exercise 6 days a week.
  3. Beat my 5K personal best. I’m not sure what this is, so I’ll have to dig out those running bibs and see.
  4. Bench press 300 pounds for a one rep press. There’s a specific workout in 4 Hour Body for this. I’m going next week to SkyFitness to get my current max.
  5. Play at least 5 rounds of golf under 100.
  6. Help my oldest son Abishai complete his first 5K race. He’s 7. We’re looking at the autism race at Market Common.
  7. Complete an ultramarathon (over 26.2 miles) in spring 2013.
  8. Bring my weight down to 200 pounds or less. I’m currently weighing in at 245. I’d like to be in the Light Heavyweight category.
  9. Compete in a martial arts tournament and rock it Karate Kid style.
  10. Decrease my body fat percentage by 10% in 2012.
  11. Complete a 100 mile ultramarathon in under 24 hours to earn the coveted belt buckle.
  12. Increase my high density cholesterol (HDL, the good stuff) to 40.
  13. Complete an Iron Man Hawaii event (2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike, 26.2 mile run).
  14. Summit all 50 US state highpoints. 35 to go.
  15. Climb the Seven Summits, all eight of them. 6 left to go.
  16. Thru-hike the Appalachian Trail.
  17. Fight in a Gathering of the Pack with the Dog Brothers.

So that’s it. It’s out there now. Let’s see how many I can cross off in 2012!

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions (Challenges)- Physicality

  1. Via Facebook- Heather wrote: “That’s an impressive list. Your approach to goals makes a lot of sense. The Appalachian trail is one of mine! So far I have hiked the WIDTH of the trail. “

Leave a Reply

