World Domination Summit Notes Part I


As Chris Guillebeau announced on Twitter the day of the conference, World Domination day is officially here.

This conference has perfected the art of meet-ups. I’ve been to a lot of other conferences where people get together sometimes either before or after the events, but it’s usually a fluke if you found out about the meet-up until after you missed it. For the WDS, there’s an official page where people announce and schedule meet-ups.

I attended one this morning for a superb breakfast at Mother’s Bistro in downtown Portland. Even with a manly sized appetite as big as mine, I could not finish the order of biscuits and gravy that came out. We packed about 20 WDS attendees into a tiny dining room. I met people from at least four different countries and all over the US.

After that, I just walked around town a little more until I headed over to the early registration for the summit. On the way over there I passed some really neat parks. Portland is full of parks. I love that. You can be strolling through downtown and, out of nowhere, there’s a park. Some are really nice. Some aren’t. Some are full of homeless people. Some are full of kids.

The 2012 World Domination Summit did not disappoint. I learned a lot. I was challenged continually. I made some great friends. I could gush on and on about it, but I’ll just save you that and give you my notes. Bear in mind, my notes are in no way comprehensive. They’re the main items that spoke to me. My notes won’t include all of the speakers either. Some of the presentations weren’t geared to note-taking and were either more hands-on or too powerful to waste time writing. With that said, here we go…

Brene Brown, author of The Gifts of Imperfection and a research professor at the University of Houston. She has an awesome TED Talk.

  • She spoke on the power of being uncool.
  • Wherever you are, remember always that no one belongs there more than you.
  • If in doubt, just tell them to “Suck it!”
  • Cool is about control. Uncool is about letting go and connecting.
  • Your experiences will never be able to exceed your willingness to be vulnerable.
  • You have to be willing to get naked (metaphorically) to experience life.
  • Gratitude + Joy > Scarcity
  • When we lose our capacity for vulnerability, joy becomes forboding.
  • Creativity > Comparison
  • There is no such thing as creative and non-creative people. You either use it or you don’t.
  • Unused creativity doesn’t just go away. It becomes grief, rage, and anger.
  • Quit shaming kids for 4-headed blue horses.
  • Contribution > Criticism + Cynicism
  • Belonging > Fitting In
  • Who you are will always trump who you think people want you to be.

Susan Cain, the author of Quiet spoke about how introverts are taking over the world. She described her work time alone as “splendid solitude”. Being an introvert, this resonated well with me.

I attended a minimalism panel that included Joshua Becker of Becoming Minimalist, and Joshua Fields Milburn and Ryan Nicodemus of The Minimalists. I also attended a meetup with The Minimalists a couple of days later at another site in Portland that was extremely educational.

There is more joy to be found in pursuing less than there is in pursuing more.

Cliche…the more stuff you own, the more it owns you.

Cliche…the joys of home ownership

Your minimalism is going to look different than someone else’s minimalism.

Your essential items will look different.

Minimalism frees up more time, money, and energy for experiences.

Minimalism can free you up to pursue your passions.

Have a Packing Party. Pack up everything in your house like you’re moving. Only unpack it as you need it. At 3 weeks get rid of everything not unpacked.

Much more to come later…be sure to check out my photos on my Facebook page at “Drdavid Powers”.

2 thoughts on “World Domination Summit Notes Part I

  1. Pingback: I’m Investing in My 9yo Nephew (Chris Guillebeau’s $100 StartUp Challenge) « Mastering the Art of Living

  2. Pingback: A Global Leadership Summit 2013 Recap | Mastering the Art of Living

Leave a Reply

