First Sale- An Update on Chris Guillebeau’s $100 StartUp Challenge


I mentioned recently about using the Chris Guillebeau $100 StartUp Challenge to fund and invest in my nephew’s business selling handmade, artisan duct tape wallets. Since that post, a lot has happened, so I wanted to throw out an update. If you’re not sure what I’m talking about, check out the post. Theres a cool video on it.

Listing. His wallets are now listed in my new online store at Graveside Services. I created him his own collection so that as he adds more creations to his repertoire, I can add them to the store.

Sales. He’s only made one sale so far, but that one sale made him so excited. I just shipped it off today. To him, that one sale made him an official businessman. The sale was a request for the moustache pattern. Here it is before I shipped it.

New Items. The duct tape wallets are an item that he has perfected through lots of practice. He’s experimenting with other items like a bow tie, men’s tie, purse, Kindle and Nook covers, and school folders. Right now, they’re just prototypes that he gives away. As he perfects them, we’ll start adding them to his store.

Growth. I call it growth a delegation. He calls it fun. He’s been teaching his mom and cousins how to make stuff as well.

Marketing. I didn’t think about it before, but he asked for business cards to put into each wallet before he sends them out. Great idea. I order them yesterday. His job title is Duct Tape Architect. It’s only the second purchase I’ve made from the $100 from Chris.

Super Cool Friends. Over the weekend some really great friends were tweeting and retweeting about his business. The ones I know about are Chris Guillebeau @chrisguillebeau, Ryan McRae @afghanryan, Megan Hunt @lasertron, and James Garner @OutdoorGearTV. I’m sure there are a few more, but these are the ones that popped up before I went to bed. All told, that was the potential to reach almost 100,000 followers. There’s a lot of potential there for sales for him.

I’m really excited for him and an opportunity to invest in a young entrepreneur. My hope is that I end up helping him become ‘kid rich’!

Leave a Reply

