Book Review- Spartan Gold by Clive Cussler and Imagine That by Manuel Luz


This article was originally published in print as a part of my Time to Relax column in Transitions magazine…

Here’s a quick rundown of some really great reads I’ve encountered lately. Consider it a summer reading list and go check out these books.

Imagine That: Discovering Your Unique Role as a Christian Artist by Manuel Luz. I read this one a while back and believe it to be the single best book I’ve read thus far on Christian worship. Although it’s geared to Christian artists including musicians, painters, and dancers, the book really focuses on worshipping God with your talents, whatever they are. If you’re an artist, it’s a must read, especially if you’ve ever encountered a church where your particular talent was not allowed or appreciated. Even if you’re not an artist, the book will help you discover a few new truths about worship in the church.

Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. The trilogy includes Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay. I saw the movie and loved it. Then my wife bought the books and devoured them in a week. I finally started reading them and can’t put them down. I’m anxious to finish this review so I can go back and read the final few pages in Mockingjay. Of course, after they’re all done, I’ll wish I’d read them a little slower and savored the adventure. These books may be labeled as Young Adult at the bookstore, but don’t let that turn you off. If you’ve already seen the movie, the books will make you want to see it again. As I sit and revise this article, I just finished the last book. What an awesome way to end the series by…sorry, don’t want to spoil it for you.

Spartan Gold by Clive Cussler. This is another of Cussler’s books in the Fargo series. The Fargo’s are a married couple that show up in a great number of the books. I enjoy reading about them even better than the Dirk Pitt adventures that made Cussler famous. I think it’s because I’m married and yearning for more adventure in my own life. His books are a bit formulaic, but I don’t care. The adventures are sharp and heavily influenced by historical fact. It’s always a lot of fun to see how Cussler writes himself into the book as well.

Those five books should keep you busy this summer.

Leave a Reply

