Can’t Stop the Signal


I’m an Informationist.

What exactly does that mean? It means that gathering, processing, and using the random bits and bytes of information around us is one of my core strengths. A lot of the information I gather goes to direct use in one of the businesses I own or operate. It could be Warehouse 14 (the comic book store), my online marketplace, or my Cultural Architect practice. I still come across a lot of information that isn’t useful to me, but important nonetheless. I save that and give it to my clients. That’s one of the reasons they come to me.

This reminds me of a quote from Serenity, which was the deathbed declaration of the informationist character in one of the best sci-fi films ever made. Mr. Universe was played by David Krumholtz, who played the lead on Numbers, another informationist character. At the end of his time he said…

You can’t stop the signal, Mal. Everything goes somewhere, and I go everywhere.

It’s that signal that I follow. And process. And analyze. Is there a signal you’re looking for that I can help you find?

Leave a Reply

