Invading Crown Park Golf Club in Loris SC


Our regular crew of myself, my dad, and two coworkers invaded a local course just a few miles from the house. It was the first time we played the Crown Park Golf Club, and I’d say it’s a hidden gem a few miles from the Myrtle Beach SC. The course sits right on Highway 9 between Little River and Loris amongst a row of other courses.

SAM_0077

Here’s the skinny on the course…

Course…We played on a really crappy weather day, but the course was still in excellent shape with not too much mud or puddles. It had rained all morning and still sprinkled on us a little, but I have no complaints on the course at all. I’d say it’s in even better wintertime shape than most other courses we’ve played here at the beach. The staff at the course was awesome, especially the cart attendant and the snack bar lady. The only exception there was Jason that manned the desk. I didn’t get the chance to meet him, but when I called the course that morning to inquire about the weather, here’s the conversation…

Me- I wanted to check on the weather. It’s raining on the south end of the beach. How is it on your end?

Jason- Not sure. I think it’s misting.

Me- What’s the prognosis on weather for the day?

Jason- Not sure. I haven’t looked at the weather or the tv or the radar or anything.

Me- Uh. Ok. Thanks.

In my humble opinion, I’d consider it the golf pro’s job to know the weather report for the day and be able to advise anyone calling not only how it is currently, but how it looks for the day. When we arrived there, the cart attendant (he was awesome!) had looked at the radar, had a report for us, and had checked the course to tell us which holes were cart path only because of the water.

Course Rating…I’ll give the course an 9 of 10. The only thing holding me back from a 10 was that there weren’t any spectacularly memorable holes or layouts on the course, just pretty much standard fare as far as doglegs, water, fairways, etc.

My Score- I did alright. I’ve been beating my dad some lately, but this time he got me by 6 strokes. I’ll say my score was over a hundred but under 120.

Price…I had a really awesome coupon and only paid $63 for a foursome. Pricewise, I’d say this course is definitely worth up to the $50 range.

Price Rating…10 of 10

Food…This is the main rating point. At our skill level, the course could change a lot, but it’s the mid-game snack that really causes a change in our game. A bad hot dog can ruin a game, but a good one, and you have a chance at breaking a 100. The hot dogs were great. They had chili and the dogs were actually bigger than the buns.

Food Rating…10 of 10

Wildlife…Just a few squirrels and herons. I’ll blame the lack of noticable wildlife on the rain.

Wildlife Rating…6 of 10

Item of Interest…

Why are there never any pretty young ladies on the golf course? In several years of golf I’ve only seen young guys, old guys, and old ladies? There’s a big disparity there.

One nice fact is that there were few houses visible from the course and none in the danger zone, i.e. anywhere in the direction or distance from my shot.

The golf carts were outfitted perfectly for the weather. This was the first course I ever played in crappy weather the already had side curtains installed on the carts. They also had heaters on the carts as well. So nice! I’ve never seen that before, and we’ve played a lot of our courses in the winter and in crappy weather.

Overall Rating…9 of 10. I’d highly recommend playing this course if you’re looking for great golf at a great price.

Bonus…Some of the signs mentioned swales, a word I’ve never seen before. I assumed it meant ‘ditch’, but I looked it up anyway. The definition of swale is “A low or hollow place, esp. a marshy depression between ridges.” I expanded my vocabulary playing golf!

SAM_0075

Leave a Reply

