Special Offer- Top Ten Ways to Not Screw Up Your Life


I don’t talk business here much, at least in the way of ‘here’s me, here’s what I do, hire me’. That’s what my website is for. Mostly I just like to talk about how much fun and interesting my life is. It’s a mix of pure awesomeness and the search for even more awesomeness. My blog is more about my lifestyle than how I make my quan, although the two go pretty much hand in hand. An experience at my local Starbucks hangout this morning kind of spoke to me on this level though. That’s why today’s post may seem more on the business side of things.

I was supposed to meet a friend at Starbucks this morning. I thought she was a no show, so I stayed for about a half an hour reading and enjoying the out-of-office time. Turns out she’d sent me a message that she wouldn’t make it. Even so, the failed meeting did turn into a blessing. At the register I met a young lady who seemed to be having some problems with her ‘maybe-about-to-be-fiance’. She was talking to the cashier about her problems when she just turned around and started asking me too. She didn’t know either of us, but was obviously at a point where she needed to talk to someone.

I talked to her a little and told her I worked as a counselor. She asked for a card and, at least three times, said, “This meeting today was meant to be.”

IMG_7287

So, here’s my offer for you. I do a lot of my counseling appointments out of the office, usually over food or beverage. People relax better that way. I’d like to do that more. My offer to you is a special rate if you contact me soon for a one hour counseling session at one of my local hangouts (or my office if you prefer) for $50. It can be a big issue, a brainstorming session, or just someone to talk to in a confidential way. Relationship, work/life, finances…whatever you need.

My normal hourly rates are $200 per hour, so this is a significant break on that. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy making quan, but I realized today with that young lady that a lot of people could use some help that can’t afford my normal rates. It’d be nice to be able to help young folks in the early relationship phase before they end up in unhappy marriages or worse.

For my nomadic friends who travel constantly or live out of my area (Myrtle Beach SC), I’ll make the same offer to you. We can do the talking by phone, Skype, chat, whatever way you feel most comfortable. We can still share coffee, at least digitally speaking.

As promised in my headline, here are my Top Ten Ways to Not Screw Up Your Life…

  1. Enjoy a multi-hour meal with friends or family at least once a month.
  2. Give to your church or charity, at least 10% of what you make.
  3. Pick a relationship that’s gone wrong in some way and fix it.
  4. Ask for help when you need it.
  5. Stay out of debt.
  6. Read at least one book a month.
  7. Exercise at least three times a week.
  8. Quit drinking soft drinks.
  9. Drink more coffee and tea.
  10. Find someone in your life that you can help.
Leave a Reply

