New School MBA- Wisdom Meets Passion


Given the opportunity, I’ll talk endlessly about Dan Miller, his family, and their influence in my life, both professionally and personally. I recently finished reading his latest book Wisdom Meets Passion that he co-authored with his son Jared Angaza. In all the years I’ve known Dan and his other son Kevin, I’ve never met Jared. This book feels like my first opportunity to get to know him personally.

Here’s a pic of me and Dan…

DSCN3431

Even better, here’s a pic of me sitting where the magic happens, behind Dan’s desk. Sorry, Dan, I had to do this. I have this idea about getting my pic behind the desks of famous people. There’s a desk in the an oval office in DC made from a reclaimed ship that I’ll get a pic behind some day.

DSCN3421

There’s a lot in the book that follows several different paths in my life. As pertaining to my series on New School MBA’s, I thought I’d post a few comments from the book along that line of thought. If you’d like to check out the book, Dan’s other works, and tons of free content from Dan, be sure to visit his site at this LINK.

He mentioned a quote from Gibbon’s History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire that squares perfectly with current B-school thought…”the uniform government of the Romans introduced a slow and secret poison into the vitals of the empire. The minds of men were gradually reduced to the same level, the fire of genius was extinguished.”

From this he goes on to talk about the notion of interchangeable workers, which is a byproduct of the current B-school curriculums…”The lack of individuality and uniqueness in many of our jobs today is disabling the human spirit and reducing the minds of men to the same level.”

B-schools are a very traditional lot, with very little innovation and even less response to immediate changes in the world and the way things are really done outside the classroom. The B-school industry is its own huge corporate machine that is slow, unwieldy, and past its due. This begs the question in your life- are you a typical B-school candidate or a candidate for a New School MBA?

Here’s an example of New School MBA thinking from Dan’s book…”They see the traditional life as settling for mediocrity and taking the path of least resistance. There is no attraction to being normal or ordinary. In fact, that’s a terrifying prospect.”

Obtaining a New School MBA is a frightening and soul-gratifying experience. It involves both work and family. It’s anything but traditional. The textbooks are often free or found only in digital form from people who are doing the work, not the $300 behemoth hardbacks that college bookstores force down your throats. Most of the work is done outside the classroom. It takes way longer than 4 years, but you accomplish so much more. It’s not all about money. It’s practical application versus classroom theory.

It’s you changing the world.

If you’re interested in a New School MBA way of life, get in touch. It’s what I help people do. It’s my way of changing the world.

4 thoughts on “New School MBA- Wisdom Meets Passion

  1. Great words David, and thanks so much for the mention. I dig this line, “Obtaining a New School MBA is a frightening and soul-gratifying experience.” Amen brother.

    • Thanks Kevin! You have no idea how much you and your dad are behind all my success these past years! I raise a mug of coffee in toast to you!

  2. Yup, Dan is THE man. His book 48 Days to the Work You Love (and therefore, he himself) changed my life.

    I am 75% through Wisdom Meets Passion and loving it. Its always great to hear from Dan and hearing from Jared for the first time has been wonderful.

    -Derek

    • Derek, looked up the link you sent me for your new site. I love it! The husband and wife statues for the logo are awesome!

Leave a Reply

