A Sartorialist Saves Lives


Now, if you’re a regular reader of my sartorial musings, this one might seem like a bit of a departure. In other words, it’s a serious one. That’s not to say my others aren’t serious. They really do express how I feel about fashion and things of that nature, but they are a bit off-the-wall.

First, how many of you participated in the TOMS Shoes One Day Without Shoes event on Tuesday?

I did, sort of.

I participated in an event for the celebration, but I didn’t go shoeless. I’m a bit of a germaphobe and going shoeless in public freaks me out. The event is geared to introduce people to the plight of shoeless people in the world. Going without shoes exposes kids and others to a lot of things like worms, diseases, and injuries. That either kills them, debilitates them, or shortens their lifespan. In a way, my germaphobic nature is kind of a catalyst. I definitely recognize the plight of the shoeless more than some because I know way too much about the microbiological creepy crawly things. As a matter of fact, I refuse to go shoeless for that reason.

If you’re not familiar with TOMS Shoes or the One Day Without Shoes event, the best thing I can do is send you to the TOMS Shoes website HERE. Be sure to check it out and plan on participating in next year’s event in one way or another. If you don’t go barefoot, maybe you could at least wear a pair of TOMS.

TOMS ODWS_2013_001

TOMS ODWS_2013_002

My super awesome friend Eileen Soisson works at Coastal Carolina University and organized the event there this year. I believe they hit #5 on the TOMS site for registered participants! She invited me out to participate in a panel discussion about Start Something That Matters, which is the name of TOMS founder Blake Mycoskie’s book. She gave me the opportunity to talk about starting both my business and a church. We also watched a TOMS documentary and fielded questions from the students. It was a great experience. There were a lot of students there, and I saw kids all over campus either in TOMS or walking around barefoot.

So, why am I telling you all this in my sartorial musings?

It’s easy. TOMS makes sartorial things. First shoes and now sunglasses. It’s important. TOMS is what you’d call a socially conscious for-profit company. They don’t just make a raw profit. They also give back to the global community.

Check them out and ask yourself if you’re doing something that matters. If not, I think it’s time to start.

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

TOMS ODWS_2013_003

Leave a Reply

