Beth Pensinger is a Geek


A young lady named Beth Pensinger spoke at my church today.

With that first sentence, let me issue a few disclaimers.

‘Young lady’- Anyone younger than me is young. She’s younger than me by a few years or a decade give or take a bit. I chronologically date people by which Star Wars movie they remember. I saw the first one in the theater as a wee 2-year-old kid. That’s my generation. Empire Strikes Back pushes the age a little younger. That’s more my wife’s speed. Return of the Jedi moves into a whole ‘nother generation. The others, well, there were no other Star wars movies that really count. Anyone who goes by those I refer to as kids.

‘Spoke’- That’s right. She spoke in my church. I gave her the whole stage area, which loosely interprets the area where the speaker stands near the big tv screen. I’m not afraid to let a woman speak in my church. She wore pants too and not an ankle length denim jumper. Eek! I was raised independant Baptist. If you were too, you understand what I’m saying.

‘Geek’- Guess I better clarify that from the title. I mean geek in the most coolest way, like Sheldon on Big Bang Theory. I did say geek though and not nerd. Nerds don’t know the difference between Star Trek and Star Wars. Geeks are well-rounded nerds.

IMG_7921

Beth spoke today about the journey writing her book let me fall. I haven’t read the book yet, but I can’t wait to dive into it. I bought three copies. We’ll keep one and I’ll give the other two away.

Here’s the description of her book from Amazon…

Anyone who’s struggled with an addiction of some sort would agree that finding lasting contentment from the actual addiction is much like a dog chasing its tail—only a lot less adorable. Let Me Fall is the love story between God and His dimwitted daughter. I’m the dimwit in case you were wondering. As a grown woman, it pains me to admit that the catalyst for this story was my obsession with Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight saga, and the despair immediately following my reading it. If my despair were merely of the lighthearted, “oh darn I chipped a nail” variety, you wouldn’t be reading this book description. But it wasn’t, and you are. As in most tales of woe, I hit rock-bottom, which meant all my nails
got chipped. Fearing the savage state of my cuticles as well as my heart, I finally called out to Father God for help. Spoiler Alert: He showed up with a spiritual defibrillator. Let Me Fall is where my literal world figuratively collides with God as He shows me more of who I am and who He is. My story isn’t a formula for falling in love with God. But I would be thrilled if it is a catalyst for others to do the same.

She was amazing. She has just the right amount of humility and talkativeness that makes for a fun speaker. She reminded me a lot of when I attended Don Miller’s Storyline conference a few years back. It’s kind of weird, but if you’ve seen him speak, you’d know what I mean. The description of her book sounds a lot like him too.

If you get the chance, go buy her book. It’s on Amazon HERE or if you’re local to the Myrtle Beach SC area, you could always catch her at a book signing or her home church The Rock. Sign up for her blog too. You can do that HERE. You need to meet her though. The cute little ladybird pictograph in her autograph is worth getting in person.

As to her geek cred, she actually started her talk with…”I’ve always loved romance since the first time I saw Han and Leia kiss on the big screen…”

Did I forget to say that she’s pretty too? She’s not one of those pimply-faced girl geeks that never ventures outside or far from a refrigerator. She looks normal, more like Penny from Big Bang Theory than the character that Sara Gilbert plays. To make her even cooler, her husband Jeremiah rocks a fierce beard.

I could go on and on, but I’ll end with her bio from the back of the book…

Beth Pensinger is an awkward, semi-colon abusing nobody who smiles too much. She is the author of four—make that four and a half—journals and untold scores of napkin-notes. She lives near Myrtle Beach, SC with her husband, dog, and human-hating chameleon. Visit with her at http://www.bethpensinger.com, where she blogs about dirty microwaves, infertility, and the fine qualities of Faramir of Gondor.

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Beth Pensinger is a Geek

  1. Oh, isn’t the world full of nifty coincidences? My friend, The Budget Maven (I actually call her Allison), had Beth as a guest poster last week. Cool, eh?

    Also, this particular nerd is well versed in the differences between Star Trek and Star Wars. 😉

  2. What a cool coincidence! I totally spaced (in a Star Trek way) when I made that nerd comment and forgot my fave Nerd in the Brain!

Leave a Reply

