Are You a Sluggoth?


I actually meant to say ‘sluggard’ in the title, but sluggoth just rolls so phonetically off the lips. Go ahead, say it three times for me. It’s okay though that I misspoke. A sluggoth, a fictional creature, which is often represented as a big maggoty worm kind of thing, is a pretty good metephorical picture for a sluggard.

untitled

Now, let’s find out if you be one.

I counsel and coach a lot of people in finding their fit in life. You know, that one place and career that God created them for, instead of the passionless 9-5 that they more often than not find themselves trapped in like Neo in the Matrix. I help them find and identify that perfect spot. Then I help them weave their current lives, including finances, family, education, and more, into that role. Then I push them off the edge of the boat to go live it. Most of the time I find that they already possess all of the resources and energy needed to do it. Many times they already know where that magic place is. They usually just need someone like me to push them.

Sadly, a lot of them hold onto the edge instead of jumping out into something better.

During my Bible study this morning I came across Proverbs 20:13, which talks about sleep-

Love not sleep, lest thou come to poverty; open thine eyes, and thou shalt be satisfied with bread.

Right now, I’m studying through the Criswell Study Bible, with notes by W.A. Criswell, a prominent church Pastor and Bible scholar. In the notes for that verse, he further defines the consequences of a lover of sleep and provides the characteristics of a sluggard. Unfortunately, these fit a lot of the people I work with on a daily basis.

  1. They fail to begin things. Proverbs 6:9-10
  2. They neglect to complete tasks. Proverbs 12:27, 19:24, 26:15
  3. They refuse to face their problems. Proverbs 22:13, 26:13-16
  4. They are restless and unsatisfied. Proverbs 13:4
  5. They are helpless and worthless to all. Proverbs 15:19, 18:9

Does any of this fit you at all? Think about it from the perspective of the people around you. Do you seem like this to them? If you do, then it probably fits. Don’t worry, though. None of it is irreversible. It can all be changed. That’s what I do. I slay sluggoths and help them transform into something better.

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

