Embrace the “I Don’t Know”


I’m off on adventure time. Not like the cartoon with Finn and Jake but close. My baby does have a Finn diaper bag. No, I’m off on adventure time with my family to north Georgia to do some hiking and exploring.

It’s weird, but as much as I like new experiences and challenges, I’m just not one to try new eateries that often. I often opt for the same old chain places and order the same old thing every time. I like regularity with my foodstuffs.

We were in downtown Dahlonega GA tonight, just walking around looking for a coffee shop for some hot brew. Me and my mom walked down to a place by the name of The Crimson Moon right off Main Street. I thought it was just a coffee shop. Turns out it was a restaurant as well. I was gonna turn around and find a ‘just a coffee shop’ spot, but my mom said “Nay”.

“Let’s all sit down, and go ahead and eat here,” she says.

“Grumble, grumble,” says I.

Turns out my mom new way better than I did.

IMG_8437

The Crimson Moon is a cafe, a bar, and a coffee shop complete with a stage and sound system for live mic performances. I believe it used to be an old store and you can still look around and see the old panelling, ceiling tiles, and original glass in some of the windows.

We all enjoyed a great meal with most of the place to ourselves. Not one to eat that many veggies, I ordered a vegetable platter that was awesome. My son had a fancy grilled cheese with three cheeses, onions, and spinach. Even the baby had a great meal. He cried when all the sweet potato chips were gone.

IMG_8434

Our waitress was pretty cool. She was the epitome of sweet southern charm all wrapped up in a cute package.

Oh, I had that coffee too, before I left. I sipped on the Gemini, which was a vanilla hazelnut latte.

So, don’t be afraid to embrace the “I’m not sure” times in your life. Sometimes you may strike out, but I’d say that you’ll nail it most of the time, like we did today. If you’re ever in Dahlonega GA, park somewhere near the Gold Rush museum, walk around a bit to work up an appetite, and then stop into The Crimson Moon for a great meal or coffee.

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

IMG_8436

 

One thought on “Embrace the “I Don’t Know”

  1. They love to have photos taken don’t they? What better place than a coffee shop.

    In His Name, Teresa Powers

Leave a Reply

