Called Again to the Appalachian Trail


Some of you will understand what I mean about being ‘called’ to the Appalachian Trail. Some of you won’t, but I hope you’ll sit with me for just a minute and let me explain.

June 1st was National Trails Day. It’s a holiday and a bit of an excuse to go hit the trails and encourage others to do the same. If you’re trail-addicted like me, you don’t need much of an excuse. It never hurts to have a good reason, though, when you’re inviting other people. For me, the draw is usually the AT. I don’t see her much, as I live too far away for frequent visits. I’ve never hiked her beautiful length the entire way. We’ve only spent time together here and there. But still I’m drawn back to her again and again.

One of my plans is to section hike the entire trail with my kids before they graduate high school. We homeschool, so that makes it a little bit easier, but it’s still a huge task. We started that task this past weekend by visiting Springer Mountain GA, the southern terminus of the trail. I thought it would be very symbolic to start the boys off at the beginning and also give them a small taste of what’s to come. The approach trail to Springer is also fairly short and not too strenuous. In fact, my 2yo Eleazar hiked the entire way.

IMG_8425

They all loved it and we’ll certainly be back again for the next section as the trail calls us back.

Another reason I thought fondly about the AT this time of year is because my friend Jennifer Pharr Davis’ latest book will hit the shelves in a couple of weeks. You may remember her from earlier articles or blogs and her first book Becoming Odyssa. Jennifer rates very high on my list of Top Ten Most Awesome People in the World. Her inaugural book was about her first thru hike of the AT. This next book Called Again chronicles her successful venture to break both the men’s and women’s speed record for an AT completion.

You might think a book of that nature is all about the speed or the hiking. It’s not. Both the speed and the hiking are secondary to the relationships. That’s what comes through for me in Jennifer’s writings. It’s her relationship with nature, with other hikers, and with her family and friends. I’ve only met her in person for a short time when I attended the Appalachian Trail Institute hosted by Dr. Warren Doyle. From that first glimpse of her, to her lecture, and then never seeing her again as she left early the next morning to put in a long section hike before heading home made such a distinct impression on me that I count myself tremendously lucky to have met her.

IMG_8418

I wouldn’t say that her first thru hike pushed relationships to the brink, although it did pose unique challenges to people who didn’t understand the trail. Called Again is a little different because the purpose and nature of this thru hike are vastly different. All the relationships involved including the one with her internal self are pushed to the breaking point. Because of this book I have a new appreciation for her, her husband Brew, and what it takes to break a record of this magnitude. I also met a side of Jennifer through this book that I didn’t know before. She can be pretty scary when she’s hyper-focused. I look on in awe but only from a safe distance while I read.

If you’re at all interested in the Appalachian Trail, outdoor journeys, or stories of perseverence, go straight to Amazon and order her book. It doesn’t come out for a little bit, so I have a plan for you. Go ahead and order her first book Becoming Odyssa and read it first. You’ll have it finished before Called Again hits your mailbox. You’ll gain a ton of insight into Jennifer’s motivations and calling by reading both.

And to answer the question of what you should do to celebrate reaching the summit of Springer Mountain…you should grab a seat and read Jennifer’s book.

IMG_8417

One thought on “Called Again to the Appalachian Trail

  1. I do miss the AT. I used to live in the mountains of NC, and the AT was always so easy to get to…not so much anymore. What an awesome accomplishment it will be for your boys to hike the whole thing before they finish school! 🙂

Leave a Reply

