Is Starbucks Blatant Consumerism or Tasty Goodness?


I stopped in at my local Surfside Starbucks today for a Shaken Iced Peach Green Tea Lemonade. It was then that I experienced an existential crisis.

This morning I watched a video by Don Miller talking about Consumerism. It was a segment from a study we’re getting ready to do at The Pilgrimage based on his movie Blue Like Jazz. My viewing ended up being more than simple sermon prep. It made me think about my day. Am I buying things simply because the marketing tells me to?

Starbucks sent me an e-mail the other day about this drink. I’ve been craving one ever since. Was I propagandized by the marketing or making my own choices independant of their influence?

Summer Tea

Thankfully I managed to settle my crisis and enjoy the beverage. Here’s how…

It’s hot outside, probably close to 90 degrees and the humidity is so thick, you can swim through it.

I’m thirsty.

The drink is cold and tasty.

I had enough cash in my pocket to pay for it.

If someone wanted me to get my caffeine on somewhere other than the corporate behemoth, then they need to open up a decent coffee shop on my end of town.

Whether I was influenced by the marketing or not, I’m gonna go on record and say that I really enjoyed the drink, and I’m glad I got it. It’s good that you think about your buying decisions, but sometimes you just need to buy and drink up.

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

