A Minimalist Lesson in Recycling


My kids want me to recycle more. Stupid educational cartoons talking about recycling and how we can be better stewards of the earth are influencing my kids. What happened to the old days when cartoons only made my kids want more toys and sugary snacks? Of course, I think recycling is a great idea, but I’m a busy guy. It takes effort to recycle, right? It also takes space. I’d need bins. Since my municipality doesn’t do recycling pick-up, we’d have to store the goods until enough of them accumulate for us to make a trip to the recycle center, which is a whopping 2.5 miles away.

The main reason I don’t want to recycle is because I don’t have space for bins in my garage. I have ‘stuff’ taking up that space. Useless stuff. Dusty stuff. But it’s stuff that’s already there. It owns that space. Who am I to move it and say, “Look stuff, you’ve lived here long enough. Time to move out.”

Urk! That one tapped my minimalist button right on the nose. I’m refusing to recycle more because I don’t want to clean out a corner in my garage and get rid of some stuff that’s in the way. Great. Now that I know both the problem and the solution I’m responsible for doing something about it.

I think it’s time to do some cleaning, buy some bins, and do my part to recycle more.

Is there a spot in your life where having too much stuff is keeping you from doing what’s right?

Here’s the south corner of my garage that needs cleaning. Next time you see it, it’ll look different.

IMG_9719

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “A Minimalist Lesson in Recycling

  1. Hi I’m Heather! Please email me when you get a chance, I have a question about your blog! Heather.vonstjames(at)gmail.com Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

