Before I Have Kids, I’d Like to…


I used to have a list like this one. It wasn’t titled “before I have kids”. It was just my bucket list, or mondo beyondo list, as it’s known in our family.

Before I have kids

Then I had kids. I now have three boys and a little girl that’s due in a couple of weeks. My list changed. It changed a lot. I didn’t give up on my dreams or mondo beyondo items, but they changed. Instead of climbing the highpoint of all 50 U.S. states, I added to it. Now, I want to climb Mt. Ranier with my son for his 12th birthday. Instead of thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, it now says, “I want to thru-hike the Appalachian Trail with my kids before they graduate high school.”

Don’t use your kids or anyone or anything else as an excuse to give up on your list. Just change your list to include them. Make adjustments. Wipe things off the list. Include them as much as possible. If you have to on some things, set benchmarks for later in life, like “by the time I’m 40”.

In other words, quit making excuses.

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Before I Have Kids, I’d Like to…

  1. I had one big dream. To write a scary book and become a famous author. I may be close to it.

    In His Name, Teresa Powers

Leave a Reply

