Thor’s Dark World Should Go Back Into Hiding


I went to see the new Thor movie last night and thought I’d give you a review of it from the point-of-view of an Asgardian groupie.

Good points…

  • The movie had some great aspects to it. The scenery was amazing. The fight scenes were well done.
  • Sif was awesome as usual. I’m biased though. All she’d have to do is stand there and scowl, and I’ll be okay with it. She had a couple of good fight scenes.
  • The two best actor/actresses of the entire movie were Loki and Darcy. Without them, the movie would be useless. Both provided their own brand of comedic support that was sorely needed.
  • Chuck actor Zachary Levi did a really good job as Fandral.
  • The after credits clips were great. Dare I say “The Collector” and “Infinity Stones”? The end of the second after credits clip was the best with the frost giant monster chasing birds in London.

Bad points…

  • Hogun the Grim does not smile, so please don’t make him do it several times in the same scene.
  • Jane Porter’s character is a affront to both women and astrophysicists.
  • Thor’s hammer Mjolnir is a better actor than Chris Hemsworth.
  • How much more can we wrongly emphasize that the Thor-verse character are just aliens that fight with swords? Spaceships, bazookas, laser guns, anti-matter grenades, and more. They’re Norse gods not aliens!

My overall idea is that if you’re a comic fan or Thor groupie you’ll appreciate some of the movie, but hate many elements of it. If you’re not a big fan, it’ll seem like a pretty cool pseudo-sci-fi flick. I’d say go see it, but don’t expect much.

What I thought most after seeing it was that it made a much better remake of He-Man and the Masters of the Universe than it did a good Thor movie. I’m also getting the impression that after the Avengers, these solo superhero movies just aren’t going to be able to keep up.

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

7 thoughts on “Thor’s Dark World Should Go Back Into Hiding

  1. Yes!
    What was hard was that you could FEEL and see the potential to be epic…there were some amazing elements…that all SHOULD have taken us somewhere…but…meh…
    I mean the only part of the movie that made me “believe” were Loki’s reaction in prison and THE big twist at the end. Wasted potential.

  2. Great review David. Cool to see a stand-alone Marvel movie actually acknowledge the fact that yes, the Avengers did happen, and that they still exist in this universe, even if they aren’t always popping-up to say hello or kick some butt.

    • I liked that they showed Bor and even had Thor behead his statue by accident after what happened between him and Bor in the comic.
      If Ultron is the next Avengers movie villain, do you think they’re setting up Thanos and the Infinity Stones for the third one?

  3. David, I’ve never been much of a reader (I actually used to look down on it in this ever-changing electronic society) but I found the Marcinko series in my closet a week ago and loved it. enlightening my outlook on life and towards reading, I was looking for some book recommendations and came across you’re site. I love your philosophies and your credentials crush my ever-skeptical attitude toward authorities on anything. What you are doing here is very inspirational and I hope to read your book(s) in the near future. Don’t stop doing what you’re doing.

    • What did you think about the Marcinko series? I’ve been a fan since day with his first memoir and then through both the business books and fiction.

  4. I love them. The rogue warrior series is great. sometimes the language can go off color, but when you’re life is on the line, i can understand. He’s quite a writer for a commando, but then again he’s quite a bit of everything so… Aside from my respect for him, I have heard that the Ex-Seals hate him

    • Yeah, he does get pretty colorful. I read a lot of other SEAL memoirs and they do all seem to hate him, even the guys in Team 6 that he founded. I almost get the impression from the way some of them write about him that it’s based on several things- a bit of jealousy over his success and popularity and the fact that it seems like the cool thing to join the crowd making fun of him.
      have you read Lone Survivor? Good book, and I’m looking forward to the movie. It’s a great story, although I have my own ideas about how that kick-off to that incident should’ve went down.

Leave a Reply

