The Life of an Up and Coming Alternative Model


Just for the fun and excitement of it I started taking on a few modeling gigs here and there. Then I realized I could start making some decent money at it.

???????????

Now, I’m no supermodel. I don’t get to wear $10 million underwear at the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show. Modeling doesn’t make up a significant percentage of my income. And I’m not pretty. I said it. It’s ok. That’s not a self-deprecating statement. It’s just the truth. I don’t fit into any of the classic or modern descriptions of beauty. Other words describe me that I’m perfectly cool with though, like…

Rugged

Manly

Weird

Scary

It’s because of those factors that I fit into the odd, new, but highly sought after category of the job known as alternative modeling. I have features and facets that the standard supermodels can’t replicate. I’m not paperthin. I have what I prefer to call a viking figure. I’m big but not overly muscular. I’m only 5’11 but at 245 pounds I have a lot of muscle packed onto my frame without appearing obese at all. That fact really bugs me because on all the medical height/weight charts I rate as morbidly obese at those numbers. I also have tattoos. And my most awesome feature is a fierce bright red beard. That’s something you usually don’t see on male supermodels. I think it’s mainly because they haven’t grown into being men yet.

???????????

If you’re doing a photo shoot, or a commercial, or a feature where you need a guy that’s not quite the norm, give me a call. Not only am I free, but I think this stuff is a blast. So far, my work includes tv commercials for the Myrtle Beach Chamber of Commerce, a restaraunt in Poland, a feature film on Fiverr still in production, and other gigs like this one for Mountain Man Soap.

My secret that I’ll reveal to you…I someday want to play a named extra in a movie. I’m envisioning something like Outlaw Biker #2 or Bearded Thug.

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

IMG_2574

One thought on “The Life of an Up and Coming Alternative Model

Leave a Reply

