A Recipe for Rapid Skill Development


I’m a huge fan of rapid skill development. There’s just so much that I want to learn and so little time. I don’t see any reason I should give things up just because other people take years to develop those skills. Neither should you. Not everything requires a magical 10,000 hours to become an expert.

There are three primary texts I recommend to develop rapid skill acquisition in both skills and knowledge. You should purchase all three because, to be honest, each one offers something special or focuses more on a particular avenue.

To make it even more simple, here are instructions for getting through them before January 1st so that you can stand ready with goals to achieve in the new year.

  1. Buy them.
  2. Read them in any order you like, but read them all.
  3. Take notes.
  4. Combine lessons from all three into a process that works for you.
  5. Pick a skill and a topic that you want to master in one month.
  6. Do it.
  7. Get back to me and let me know how you’re doing.

Here’s your reading list…

The First 20 Hours- How to Learn Anything Fast by Josh Kaufman. I met Josh at the World Domination Summit and was chomping at the bit until his book came out. Josh’s book is an excellent resource for a method to boil down your approach to rapid skill learning. Josh also has some great examples of his own experiments.

The 4-Hour Chef by Timothy Ferriss. I drank the Tim Ferriss kool-aid a long time ago. This book is about cooking, but it’s not just about cooking. Cooking is just a medium for a complex and very detailed series of rapid skill development experiments. I love Tim’s approach to one-sheets.

Rapid Skill Development- the One Sheet Easy Way to New Topic Acquisition. This is my book that I published just this year. My book focuses more on rapidly becoming a knowledge expert than on skills. Wouldn’t you like to become an expert in just about any area in just a month? It works great at parties, trivia contests, and getting a job.

For this blog, my book is on sale for only $.99 for the Kindle for ONLY one week. Grab it now before it goes back up to the standard price.

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

family pics 075

 

 

Leave a Reply

