Thanksgiving Hypocrites


What are you doing for the Thanksgiving holiday? Oh, and by holiday, I do mean Thursday and Friday. It seems like the moral police have included both days into the official holiday time.

You know what I’m doing? I’m going shopping on both Thursday and Friday. My entire family is going shopping on both days. That’s what we’re doing.

Now before you get all indignant and want to demonize me in the comments, I’ll go ahead and print a couple here. If you have something different to say, go ahead, but please don’t repeat these comments. Be original. I pulled the following from the Facebook feeds of my friends.

It seems very sad to me that on the day everyone used to set aside time with family to celebrate all the things we have to be thankful for and to be thankful for the things we already have, and it has now just become an excuse to get up as early as possible to fight huge crowds for cheaply made crap that we don’t really need. Would it really be so bad to shut it all down, even for just a few hours, and focus on showing a little gratitude for what we have been given?

I had another comment posted here, but the writer asked me to remove it because I didn’t have his permission to print his Facebook comments. We’ll discuss the idea behind posting Facebook cmments that you’re not willing to stand behind on another post. After all, it is a public forum and comments said in public are, well, public.

I’ll paraphrase for him…I will NOT shop at stores that FORCE their employees to work on turkey day, and I’ll let them know about it.

Now Department stores are opening on Thanksgiving Day! Are we going a little nuts here and forgetting about family. The next thing we will see is them having Christmas Day Sales. Opening early on Black Friday is one thing but that’s just too much.

And there you go. Here’s my plans for the holiday- Thursday morning me and my 6yo are going to run a 1 mile turkey trot. Then we’ll all gather at my parents’ house for turkey day lunch. Then we go home where me and my boys will be building a model of the original Thanksgiving Day dinner out of Legos. Yes, it will include minifigs from various nationalities, species, and animal groups. A Yeti, pirate, and Spongebob will be in attendance. Then we’re going to hit the stores at 10pm. Then we’ll wake up early on Friday and hit the stores again.

If you don’t like my plans, well then, guess what? I don’t really care. Here’s what I do care about. I get tired of the hypocritical moral police trying to make me feel bad for how I spend my holiday.

untitled

Some things to consider…

  • Thanksgiving is not a religious holiday. It’s not in the Bible. Please don’t attach sacred significance to it. It’s a national holiday. If you worship it as anything more, it’s kinda like creating an idol out of it.
  • Anyone that wants to complain about me shopping with my family that sits down to watch a football game on tv is a hypocrite.
  • I feel bad for those of you who only get family time on Thanksgiving. Maybe you should try spending time with your family all year long instead.
  • If you ship your kids off to public school 8 hours a day, 5 days a week, 180 days of the year, maybe you should rethink your life choices. I feel sorry for you since school holidays are all you get with your kids.
  • I’m a minimalist. I don’t shop for things I don’t need. I don’t see anything wrong with getting good deals on what I need. I’m sorry you feel like I’m supporting this overmaterialistic holiday.
  • If you have to work on Thanksgiving, I’m glad you’re there for me. If you don’t like it, then look for a different job or create your own. If you feel bad for those who do have to work on this one day , but don’t really care about them any other day of the year, then may we all strive to reach your level of holiness.

Do what you want this year for Thanksgiving. Stay at home with the family if you’d like. Eat more than you can handle. Serve in a homeless food kitchen. Host a family with no place to go. Go shopping. Play with Legos. Get caught up on work. It’s a holiday, so enjoy it, but please don’t try to dictate how other people should enjoy it.

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

7 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Hypocrites

  1. For the most part, I agree with you. (Well, actually, no, I don’t at all…you can read mine at http://nerdinthebrain.wordpress.com/2013/11/15/why-i-dont-leave-my-house-on-black-friday/) I do agree that a person should do what makes them happy on their holidays (or any day for that matter). I agree that we can all be a little too judge-y and superior in defending our opinions.

    I, personally, would rather stab myself in the eye than shop on Black Friday, but I don’t give a rat’s banana if other people shop all day. On Thanksgiving, though, I disagree with you. Spending time with family isn’t just about spending time with your kids. Some people only get to see family that lives far away over holidays, but working on Thursday ruins that. Some people (single parents, parents working two jobs to make ends meet, etc.) may really cherish an entire day with their children, but are not in a financial position to quit their job over the issue. You make mention of people reconsidering their life situation (jobs, amount of time spent with family, public school), but that seems to be you doing the very thing you seem upset about…expecting other people to make different choices in order to fit in with your own philosophy. Not everyone has the immediate ability to make big life changes…nor does everyone want to simply to accomodate people shopping on a holiday. If the day is a religious holiday is neither here nor there…it’s a day that our nation has set aside as a national holiday, and employees should have the same opportunity as you…the ability to spend their Thanksgiving the way they want to instead of being stuck at work.

    I still think you’re awesome. 😉

    • Great one! I’m glad you still think I’m awesome. Do you want me to pick anything up for you during my shopping?

      • LOL Nope, I’m good. Well, unless you stumble upon a complete set of Buffy Season 8 and Season 9. I could probably let my morals slide for a good deal on some comics. 😉

  2. Nope…not all of them. Actually, I think I only have the first compilation (issues 1 -4 maybe?). I read the others at the library…and now the world knows what a dork I am. 😉 How black is Blackest? Is your comic shop online?

Leave a Reply

