Are You Too Civilized?


“Civilized life has altogether grown too tame, and, if it is to be stable, it must provide harmless outlets for the impulses which our remote ancestors satisfied in hunting.” Bertrand Russell, philosopher

Have you grown too tame? Have I grown too tame? I’m feeling that a lot these days as the various demands of domesticity and parenting call upon me. I feel like I need an adventure to burn up some excess reckless energy that’s been building up. What about you? Do you ever feel like you need to jump into an adventure and fee that rush of adrenaline again?

I saw the movie Lone Survivor the other day, and a quote from the movie really jumped out at me. It pretty muc embodies the nature of the Navy Seals shown in the movie and is a sentiment I feel like I need to jump wholeheartedly into again.

“Moderation is for pussies.”

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

untitled

One thought on “Are You Too Civilized?

Leave a Reply

