Take Your Resume Off-Road


Even now that I’m at the c-level in business, I still get asked for a resume for some gigs and clients that I work with. Most resumes have those magic four words at the bottom- References Available Upon Request. Mine doesn’t anymore. I added some words. Maybe you should too.

Resumes are an outmoded way of doing things. Instead of a resume, I send my potential clients to my projects- Youtube videos, published works, best-seller lists, my classes, etc. I could easily stock my resume with degrees, experience, and awards, and go twenty pages long, but still produce crappy work. Check out my work, andit will tell you way more. It should be the same for you.

Here’s the wording at the bottom of my resume now-

Sure, references are available upon request, but do you really want them? My work speaks for itself, and I’m only going to give you references that will tell you how awesome I am anyway.

This message was written by Dr. David Powers. You can always find me at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

