No Matter What I’ve Done, I Still Get Scared Sometimes


I was sitting right there behind the couch in my office. Kenny, Greg, Christiana, Robert, everyone else…the whole gang was sitting in front of me.

We were all gathered in my office for the first read through of the script for The Last of Our Days. It’s the first time I’ve done anything like this. Sure, I’ve done commercials and modeling. I’ve delivered lectures in front of thousands of people. I’ve taught at medical conferences with audiences full of people more qualified and educated than me.

But I don’t get nervous about those things anymore. This though…this was something new, and I was nervous.

Last of Our Days-zombie-David Powers

My lines didn’t come until the middle of the movie. I had the chance to hear others read first. Our director Justin would correct some by offering tips. A couple of them would flub lines. We’d make jokes. We’d laugh for a bit. The mob of angry butterflies in my stomach weren’t laughing though. They were punching me in the gut.

Would Justin tell me I was horrible?

Would the really pretty girl in the room look at me in disgust?

Would they all try to find some way to gracefully kick me off the cast?

And then it happened. My part arrived. I read. Justin gave me some tips. Everyone laughed at the right times.

I didn’t do it perfect, but I did okay. I found those butterflies and stomped them into a colorful mash-up of color and bug juice. Then I burned them so they’re kin would know better than to come back.

I’m looking forward to this, my first speaking role in a full length movie. It’s a zombie movie, and I get to play a bad-ass militia leader.

So, here’s my point. Don’t get complacent. Don’t get too stuck in comfort. Do something this year that gives you butterflies.

Get up right now and go plan something to do this year that will give you butterflies. The best way to know if it’s something big enough is that just the planning for it will give you butterflies too.

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

P.S. Keep an eye out for the movie. It’s called The Last of Our Days and from Panda Loft Studios. You can stay tuned to the filming by looking for #LastofOurDays on Twitter.

butterflies-stomach

2 thoughts on “No Matter What I’ve Done, I Still Get Scared Sometimes

  1. Pingback: My First Movie and I Get to be a Zombie Fighting Bad Guy! | Mastering the Art of Living

Leave a Reply

