Just Get Off Your _ _ _ ! (Thoughts on Sitting in a VA Waiting Room)


Note…I’m going to start doing a new thing here occasionally where I’ll write a flow of consciousness piece. It won’t be heavily edited and will likely end up feeling like a journal entry more than a true blog post. Let me know what you think, even if it makes you mad.

I took my dad to the VA Hospital the other day for an operation. They had to do some work on his carpal tunnel issues and also relocate an ulnar nerve. He’s been in the VA system for a very long time, but they’re finally catching up, and he’s had 3 surgeries in 2 weeks.

Sitting there in the waiting room I felt sick to my stomach. Not because the waiting room was really nasty (which it was) but because of the poor excuse for humanity around me.

Now, I’m a veteran. As a matter of fact, I’m a vet of both the Marine Corps and the Army. So, don’t get me wrong, I’m a big supporter of the Armed Services. I’m just not a blanket supporter that says, “Thank you for serving” to everyone. After sitting in that waiting room for most of a day I’m convinced a lot of the guys that visit the VA must have been losers before they ever became vets.

I heard way more complaining there than in any other place I’ve ever been. In that statement I’m including other places like the doctor’s office, the ER at a regular hospital, the DMV, and even the cash register lines at Wal Mart on Black Friday. The VA waiting room felt like a seething, writhing, complaining mass of people who served a few years, live horrible lives, get free medical care, and can’t possibly seem to find the blessing in that.

And the problems these guys were there for…wow! Almost every person I talked to or overheard complaining was there for an issue that revolved around poor lifestyle choices. What a contrast between these guys and my dad. My dad was there because his right arm (his dominant one) was slap worn out after over 30 years of construction work. A lot of the other guys were there because of complications from sedentary lifestyles, poor eating, and a whole lot of diabetic issues related to those 2 other things.

Even the receptionists were largely (emphasize the word large) overweight. Great example there ladies!

Some people go to the VA and walk out of there praising the warriors of conflicts past and wishing those guys had easier lives now that the wars were over. Me? I was glad to help my dad out of there and escape once his surgery was over.

Instead of “thank you for your service” I wanted to say, “Get up, you fat _ _ _ _ and get your life together. You’re a disgrace to the United States Armed Forces and you bring dishonor upon the legacy of better men who didn’t make it home.”

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

