Drop Everything and Encourage Your Kid Right Now


I thought all my friends and family here would get a kick out of this. My entire family completed our first triathlon Sunday. You can read about it HERE. Yeah, even my 7yo and 10yo ran it. My 7yo smoked it like a beast.

Benaiah Powers-triathlon-kid

On the way home, he asked me all serious, “Dad, is it possible to do triathlons for a living?”

After answering the best I could with an absolute “YES!”, I found myself wondering how to encourage this without doing the soccer mom thing on him and overdoing it. I was so proud. My little boy just got through completing a physical endeavor that adults fear. Instead of being all worn out, whining, and acting like a baby like I do after a race, he was excited about doing it more.

I talked to him more later, and he’s interested in seeing what he can do. I immediately threw out his tired old hand-me-down shoes and bought him a brand new pair of Under Armour sneakers. Our purchase was somewhat influenced by the fact that a friend of ours has a little girl who is a bona fide actual for real Under Armour kid athlete.

He and I also signed up for a 5K. He rocked that too and beat me by about a minute and a half. He came in fourth in the 19 and under category. I came in somewhere in the hundreds.

Aside from regular biking and swimming in addition to the races, we’re going to check on some coaching for him to set up good habits in all three events. If I’m careful and don’t overdo this, I might have a future professional triathlete on my hands.

I’m so stoked!

So, what about you? What are your kids doing totally out of the blue that has you proud enough to crap rainbows?

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Drop Everything and Encourage Your Kid Right Now

Leave a Reply

