I Kill Giants Too!


This is not an easy post to write, because there’s a danger it could make me seem awfully unmanly. But that’s okay. I think it’s more important to be truthful, and, yes, even emotional, than to put on a front for no reason. So read on. You can decide at the end if you want to ask for my Man Card.

I just finished reading the comic book I Kill Giants penned by Joe Kelly and drawn by JM Ken Nimura. I wish I’d come across it earlier. I wish I’d seen this book when I was a goofy middle school kid. This comic took me on a roller coaster of emotions. I’m not ashamed to admit that the book made me cry. There were also several “hell yeah’s!” while I sat and pored through it.

iKillGiants_01

Because of my own hobbies and interests, I’ve always lived on the fringe of society. I’m comfortable there now with my inner geek proclaimed proudly on the outside, but it wasn’t always easy. There were years of ridicule and people making fun of me. It wasn’t just for being a nerd either. I looked different with my bright red hair and even rosier cheeks. in many ways, the character in the book is me.

I’m sure many of you have been there too. Or maybe you’re still there.

So, what exactly is the book about?

Here’s the description from Amazon.com-

“I Kill Giants tells the story of Barbara Thorson, an acerbic fifth-grader so consumed with fantasy that she doesn’t just tell people that she kills giants with an ancient Norse warhammer – she starts to believe it herself. The reasons for Barbara’s troubled behavior are revealed through the course of the book, as she learns to reconcile her fantasy life with the real world. – In 2012, I Kill Giants writer Joe Kelley and artist J.M. Ken Niimura received the International Manga Award, an honor given by the Japanese Foreign Ministry to an outstanding comic book or graphic novel.”

71Ew1welSEL

I know a young lady who fits the book’s character even better than me. I’m going to mail this copy to her. Then I’ll buy myself another one until I come across another person to gift it to. If you have anyone in your life who’s having a rough time with nerdness, being too geeky, or possibly a social outcast who has trouble fitting in, I suggest you do the same.

You can find the book HERE.

Let the power of Coveleski help them as well!

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

