U.S. Capitol Attacked by Ultralight Aircraft


I’m pretty sure I’m not the only guy that read about the recent invasion of Washington DC by a featherweight gyrocopter.

Capitol-gyrocopter-Washington DC

Like many of you, I’ve been wondering how this happened. How did this guy manage the task of invading the world’s most protected airspace? Why didn’t the Secret Service, NSA, and others we dare not call out by name not already run scenarios involving an event of this nature? I suppose we can at least be glad it wasn’t drunk Secret Service agents flying it.

The more I thought about it, the more I realized that on many occasions scenarios of this nature have already occurred. I used to do this, as a matter of fact, with my own equipment. No, I never invaded Washington because I’m one of the good guys, but I frequently invaded heavily guarded enemy territory utilizing ultralight aircraft piloted by my own hand.

Here’s the one I used to fly…

viper_box

07

My glider was capable of carrying troops and was even armed with two missiles.

Although all of what I’ve said is true, it’s also heavy on the sarcasm. Here’s why. At Geek Futurist, this is exactly the type of scenario that we plan for. We take inspiration from pop culture and wonder what happens if the bad guys do the same. What if fiction becomes reality? How do we stop them? How do we prevent the incident in the first place?

G.I. Joe has been fighting Cobra troopers using ultralight armed gliders since the 1980’s, so why didn’t the planners and plotters at the White House ever consider this?

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

