What Do You Do When You Need Help…Reach Out


I recently reconnected with an old friend from my EMS days, and she needs my/your/our help. I used to work with Parker McBryde on an ambulance. I’m talking way back in the old days. We worked together from when I was just an uncertified person tagging along to help out as manpower all the way to when I finally became a full-fledged paramedic. She was always fun to work with and always upbeat. She taught me a lot.

You can see below the things she talked me into. I once dressed up as a bunny rabbit for an Easter fundraiser.

Surfside Rescue-Easter-Ambulance

Aside from being partners off and on over the years, we also became great friends. We would often hit the ocean to go surfing. Well, we called it surfing. It was mostly just a lot of falling. Water has always been a great stress reliever and source of self-therapy for me. I think it was for her too. And that brings us to the present and why she needs our help.

After a career in EMS, a heavy dose of PTSD, and an injury Parker left EMS for seminary. Although school and those lessons helped her manage her diagnosis, it never made them go away. You hear a lot about veterans with PTSD and there’s a lot of support out there for them, but not so much for folks in public safety. The minute they step off the ambulance the help ends…if it was even available when they worked fulltime. That’s actually what led me back to school for a degree in counseling. It was an exercise in self therapy that led me to a place where I could help others.

Parker has set up a page at GoFundMe seeking help for counseling expenses. You can find the link HERE. Go check it out. Get in touch with her. If you have it available, help her out.

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

